Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-14-2015, 05:07 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 20
Is my Duncan's sick?

I have a Duncan and it has been ages since its polyps fully extended, they are just stubby rounded ones all the time atm. Could this be sickness or something else?

I've tested ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and calcium. All are fine

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
mikeyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 07:57 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
How about alkalinity? Take a picture of it.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 08:32 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 20
Pics below. How do I test alkalinity?







Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
mikeyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 08:52 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
They certainly do not look good. What kind of lighting do you have over this tank?
Alkalinity needs to be watched more than calcium does in my experience. You would use an alkalinity test kit to do so.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 09:11 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 20
The tank is a Rekord800 that I upgraded the lighting too but no idea what too? May still have the boxes I bought them in? I'll have to get an alkalinity test kit then.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
mikeyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 09:12 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Yes, figure out what lighting you have as well.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2015, 05:06 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 20
I've had to phone the shop I bought them from to see what they sell that would fit. Pretty sure they are arcadia 28W t5 bulbs one is blue one is white. They are quite old now though - might be getting on for two years?

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
mikeyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2015, 06:24 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
They definitely need replacing. T5 lamps need replacing every 9 months or so. Look into getting ATI or Giesemann lamps for replacements. They make a difference. What size lamps are these? What are the dimensions of your tank?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2015, 06:30 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 20
It has a hood so they fit in that, it is 31.5" (W), 13.5" (D), 13.5" ( H). The actual bulb/tube measures roughly 22". Would I need to remove hood to add lamps?

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
mikeyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2015, 07:13 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I would get an ATI blue plus and an ATI aquablue special. Yes, you'll have to take off the hood and replace the lamps. They just twist to unlock. You are looking for 24" lamps....even though they measure 22".
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ick, sick

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duncan Coral looks sick Triple_R18 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 6 02-02-2015 10:35 PM
is my duncan sick or just fat? kwaenz Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 7 02-08-2012 01:23 PM
Possibly a sick or stressed out Duncan Coral Phlex Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 1 05-29-2011 09:31 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.