Leather shedding?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

amanda_marie

Aquarium Advice Freak
I purchased what was labeled as a Sinularia leather about three weeks ago.

It looked like the first photo when first placed in my tank but opened up in a few hours, like the second photo shows.

I did move it up onto the rock a couple days later and believe it was happy there as it opened up shortly after I moved it.

For the last week it has looked like the last photo.

It's one of my first corals and I'm still learning but I'm pretty sure it's just shedding. If so, any information on shedding would be appreciated (how long, how often, etc. ) from experience.

Are there any obvious signs its shedding and not sick that wouldn't be obvious in a photo that I could add?

If it isn't shedding, or could be sick, Ill list what parameters I can and answer any questions of course.

Also, best I can tell all my other corals (mushrooms, ricordia, polyps, zoas) look fine, no change.

Thanks!

Attachments

• image-4009781121.jpg
    image-4009781121.jpg
    114.1 KB · Views: 71
  • image-3136190672.jpg
    image-3136190672.jpg
    127.3 KB · Views: 92
  • image-1298194394.jpg
    image-1298194394.jpg
    190.2 KB · Views: 88
I checked my parameters last night and nothing has changed.

Ammonia- 0
Nitrite - 0
Nitrate ~20
pH - 8.2

Salinity - 1.026
Temp -79-80F

My nitrates are still a little higher than I would like but I'm preparing water for another water change. They've also been at this level, or close to, for some time. I also ordered a different nitrate test (salifert) that came in today just for comparison. I'll test when I get home from work to see what it reads. I'm currently using API liquid tests.