Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-28-2010, 03:38 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

loosing fish not inverts or crabs

helllo, first off im new to the sw tank...mine has been up for about a month, 29 gallons, flourescnet light, 30-60 gallon filter sytem (by aqua tech), ph at 8.0, salinaty at 1.022 , nitrate at 20 ppm, nitrite at 0 ppm (will not even read up to 0 on dip tester) , no chlrorine (well water) Kh is at 300 + ppm. water temp is at 80 F

in the tank i have two enenomes (doing just fine), 2 red leg hermit crabs also doing fine, one 2lbs piece of live rock that has not started to produce anything as of yet, 2 snails both are doing fine.

my problem is that 3 weeks ago i lost my puffers, thinking that i was ick, i treated tank and did about 30% water change, parameters are good, so i have started to reintroduce fish to the tank, first was a bowtie damsil, he lasted overnight a died the next afternoon with no visible signs of any thing wrong, second i just got a blue damsil with yellow tail and a green chromis last night, this morning the blue damsil is all but dead, and the chromis is struggling, (once again all parameters of water seem to be good)

help im a noob ty
Roller

Old 02-28-2010, 04:00 PM   #2
is back to save the day!

Does not sound to me like your parameters are in check, honestly. I didn't see testing for ammonia in that list. Have you been testing for this?

I would also seriously suggest you get rid of those anemones. You don't have nearly enough light to support them, and they need a completely matured tank. A tank older than a year. And judging by what your saying, your tank doesn't seem stable at all. Those nems are probably slowly dying at this point, and will eventually die and nuke your whole tank.