Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-26-2013, 10:06 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Darylb's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: western australia
Posts: 2,336
If I was to run my spare HOB HOW LONG WOULD it take for it to get seeded with BB and have an instant cycled tank?
__________________

__________________
Darylb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 06:03 AM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Darylb's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: western australia
Posts: 2,336
Isn't the best pic but you can sorta see it on his chin it doesn't stop swimming :/
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2534312066.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	148.8 KB
ID:	182889  
__________________

__________________
Darylb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 09:43 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darylb View Post
Isn't the best pic but you can sorta see it on his chin it doesn't stop swimming :/
I would research ich before you jump to any conclusions here... Do you see the fish flashing against rocks, sand, etc? Breathing heavy?
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 10:21 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Darylb's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: western australia
Posts: 2,336
No he seems fine the only time he goes near the sand is when my damsel swims over the top of him so he swims down on top of my plate coral
__________________
Darylb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 10:22 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Darylb's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: western australia
Posts: 2,336
And he eats and swims fine it's always swimming straight in front of my power head it doesn't go anywhere else in the tank
__________________
Darylb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 01:56 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
Hard to tell on my phone, but it almost looks like cottonmouth (Columnarus). Its bacterial. Often comes when there are poor water conditions. Ich does not localize like that. It is usually tiny spots all over.
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 02:01 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Darylb's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: western australia
Posts: 2,336
Oh really maybe ill take my water into the LFS to get there opinion on it I used the api master test kit and I have the master reef kit also all the results came back good :/ ill be home tomorrow morning so ill do a 30% water change and see of that helps its also on one of his side fins would that also be cotton mouth he has some small white spots on his body too
__________________
Darylb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 11:27 PM   #28
member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 620
Go with cupramine it's a different based copper solution!! Won't leach into your rock or sand bed!!! Don't it bunch of times and no coral has ever died after putting it back in as long as I used cuprazorb and lots of carbon!!!! And QT your coral cause they are not going to be treated and will have to sit with out any fish or new additions to the tank for at least 2 months!!!! Bummer
__________________
ivan_dalmatia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 11:41 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
If it is bacterial, then copper (or related) will not help. If it were a parasite, and using cupramine, then I would treat the fish in QT and keep corals in the DT.
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 12:32 AM   #30
member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 620
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTodd View Post
If it is bacterial, then copper (or related) will not help. If it were a parasite, and using cupramine, then I would treat the fish in QT and keep corals in the DT.
It helps a lot, flukes are parasites
__________________

__________________
ivan_dalmatia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.