Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-18-2005, 05:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 93
moving a tank???

I have to move apartments in may and i have my 46 gal bowfront that i have to move with me. any suggestions or ideas about how to move it, should i keep some or all of the water, and will it hurt the maturity of my tank. we were going to buy a new tank because we are getting sick of the bow front and want to upgrade to a 60 or 65 gallon to make a reef. i dont want to go through the whole process of recycling the tank again. thanks
__________________

__________________
lbaier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 05:51 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, California
Posts: 819
Keep as much water as possible. If you have LR, make sure you keep it in water in some kind of tub... same for LS if you have it. definitely DON'T try to put it in containers larger than 5-10 gallons as it will be difficult to carry... I wouldn't risk it. Keep plenty of new saltwater there to add in.

If you can keep all or almost all the water, you can add that into your new 60 and top off with freshly made SW... it'll be just like you did a water change. Just try not to move the fish around too much... they should be put back into the tank after the water temp and everything else is stable.

It's a pain in the @ss, but with more planning comes an easier time. You shouldn't have to deal with that big of a new cycle at all as long as you can keep the rock and other parts of your tank in water and as close to proper temp as possible. Just don't try to move the tank with any amount of water in it as it may break on ya. 8O

HTH
__________________

__________________
~~Rob
RLG2182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 06:05 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 229
Send a message via AIM to Tito2491 Send a message via MSN to Tito2491
I dont think you can put fish and coral from another tank to a new tank like that without cycling the tank first. If I were you i'd cycle the 65gallon tank for 3months keep the 45 bow jus for 3 more months while it cycles.
__________________
Tito2491 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 06:09 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, California
Posts: 819
When do you need to move the tank? If you have to do it now/soon, you won't have time to make a new cycle with the new tank. Let us know as much info as possible.
__________________
~~Rob
RLG2182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 06:17 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 93
I didnt think that we could put our fish and stuff in a new tank without cycling it first. We are moving at the end of may so we have alot of time. we were thinking of cycling the new tank if we got one but we are still deciding if we are going to get a new tank in the first place.
__________________
125 gal
180 lbs lr
30 gal sump/ refugium
3x 150w metal halide/2x39w and 2x24w t5 actinic
lbaier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 08:22 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
Seems to me that the filtration and rock that you have now is sufficient for your bioload. If you're moving everything anyway it stands to reason that if you kept it all to temp during the move it should be enough to sustain your existing bioload when you set it back up. Sure you'll lose a little from the walls and possibly the substrate if you replace that, but otherwise why would the tank cycle? I would think that you could put it all into the new tank at the new place and be prepared for some water changes just in case you see a spike. Is there a good reason why that wouldn't work?
__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 03:30 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long beach
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to xahx
Quote:
Seems to me that the filtration and rock that you have now is sufficient for your bioload. If you're moving everything anyway it stands to reason that if you kept it all to temp during the move it should be enough to sustain your existing bioload when you set it back up. Sure you'll lose a little from the walls and possibly the substrate if you replace that, but otherwise why would the tank cycle? I would think that you could put it all into the new tank at the new place and be prepared for some water changes just in case you see a spike. Is there a good reason why that wouldn't work?

I Agree,

as long as you get all or most of the existing water there as well as the LR, then i dont see a need to cycle... You should be very well skipped that stage!
Maybe add some LS and be sure to watch ur ammonia levels.. Any spikes then do a water change like Phyl mentioned...

If there is a cycling that takes place, it should proceed fairly quickly.. just keep up with the water parameters
__________________
xahx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 06:18 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 673
5 gal pain buckets work great...you can buy empty ones with lids that seal on at lowes home improvement....take all the water.....
__________________
NewFishGuy aka. Robert
"Nunquam Non Paratus"

Vote for AquariumAdvice
NewFishGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 09:13 AM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
If you reuse the current substrate and LR and there is enough rock and sand to adequately filter the new tank, I would think a cyle could be prevented.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 03:12 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 272
you can get buckets free at most fast food places, ask for the pickle buckets. Wash them with bleach and let them air dry and your good to go. I got a tower of buckets from Wendy's.
__________________

__________________
Only thing more dangerous than a 2nd lieutenant saying "In my experience" is a warrant officer saying "Hey guys, check this out!"
zuzecawi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
moving, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving to my new home and looking for advice for moving tank sliderfish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 08-30-2009 11:30 PM
moving tank tmkx3 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 21 01-01-2009 10:56 AM
Moving from old to new tank LouieB Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 11-01-2006 07:18 PM
Moving a Tank xeonman13 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 3 09-07-2006 12:19 AM
help!!!! Moving my tank army6192plt Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 11-01-2005 11:28 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.