Mr. Picky (Copper Banded) evicted!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

snapcrackler

Aquarium Advice Addict
I brought home my first ever Copper Banded Butterfly the other day, yes I am a SW newbie I have been freshwater all my life and just took the plunge a few months ago on my first SW tank (I'm hooked now). Anyway I put the banded in my tank, which already has about 40 snails and 40 red legged hermits, 1 coral banded shrimp, 4 damsels. The Copper Banded chowed down flakes, then chowed down bloodworms, and then proceeded to shut down my entire snail population by doing his "pick and run" thing on all of them. He didnt kill them, but they had all stopped dead in their tracks because they were afraid to come out. If they peeked out a little again, he would just bite them again. The copper banded even yanked a couple of bristleworms out of the substrate which I thought was kind of interesting. After he had terrorized the snails thoroughly, he started picking on all my crabs, and then found himself back in a plastic bag and in my vehicle. I took him back to his home at LFS. My LFS is pretty cool and they had a good chuckle about this, and then happily traded me for a Lawnmower blenny and change. So I guess unless I have aiptasia or something, no bandeds for me for a while. Man what a picky fish. He did like to hang around my coral banded shrimp though. :roll:

I'm sorry for your experience (that seems out of character for a copperbanded butterfly), but it was an interesting story!! Congrats on the LMB, they are very cool personable fish ;)