Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-25-2013, 09:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 36
Or marine ick or whatever you want to call it. Either way, it started a couple of days after I got them. The smaller one has it the worst and I fear he is not long for this world. The bigger one seems to be doing alright. Water parameters are good and none of the other fish are showing symptoms. They aren't scraping on the rocks but they are very lethargic.

I have two major problems with treating them. One, I don't have a qt tank. And two, I can't treat with copper because the tank they are in is full of inverts as well.

Does anyone have any suggestions or am I just going to have to scrap the tank?

Its a 20 gallon tall tank. FOWLR.
__________________

__________________
naplesbaitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 01:15 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
tanner1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 68
Ur gonna need to buy a qt tank just go to Walmart get one for like 10-20$
Then u gotta lower salinity in qt
U can get in depth details on how to online for sure
Hope that helped
__________________

__________________
tanner1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 11:13 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Chrisc0930's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 152
I don't think you'll be able to use a qt tank. You can try a couple fresh water dips from what I understand they can be very effective. you can try that avenue but too much will cause it to die as well.
__________________
Chrisc0930 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 11:59 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
Why would he not be able to use a QT? Go buy a 10g, some pvc pieces (to hide in) and a small powerhead and get the fish in there. Leave the invets in the DT. Trust me, it will cost less then will be lost on dead fish over time in this hobby.

Freshwater dips will not get all of the Ich. I have never seen anything that states otherwise. It's better than cleaner shrimp or cleaner wrasses, but none of that works. Hypo or copper in a QT works. Nothing else.
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 12:07 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Chrisc0930's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTodd View Post
Why would he not be able to use a QT? Go buy a 10g and a small powerhead and it will cost less then will be lost on dead fish over time in this hobby.

Freshwater dips will not get all of the Ich. I have never seen anything that states otherwise. It's better than cleaner shrimp or cleaner wrasses, but none of that works. Hypo or copper in a QT works. Nothing else.
I may be wrong. I was always told they need to cycle. Given that he already has it, it may be too late to start a QT
__________________
Chrisc0930 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 12:14 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
Nope. Ideally you have a filter or even a piece of sponge that has BB in it that you can move from your DT into the QT... that basically adds the bacteria to help with biological filtration. I still would watch the parameters. Some people store their QT in the garage and pull it out for emergencies. Throw water in, plug everything in and get the fish in there. Again, watch parameters either way, just like you would your DT.

Don't use hypo or copper in your DT, but in QT, that is what has been scientifically proven to work. Nothing else kills Ich.
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 12:28 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Chrisc0930's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTodd View Post
Nope. Ideally you have a filter or even a piece of sponge that has BB in it that you can move from your DT into the QT... that basically adds the bacteria to help with biological filtration. I still would watch the parameters. Some people store their QT in the garage and pull it out for emergencies. Throw water in, plug everything in and get the fish in there. Again, watch parameters either way, just like you would your DT.

Don't use hypo or copper in your DT, but in QT, that is what has been scientifically proven to work. Nothing else kills Ich.
See haha.. didnt know that
__________________
Chrisc0930 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 12:58 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Minkota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South Florida
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTodd View Post
Nope. Ideally you have a filter or even a piece of sponge that has BB in it that you can move from your DT into the QT... that basically adds the bacteria to help with biological filtration. I still would watch the parameters. Some people store their QT in the garage and pull it out for emergencies. Throw water in, plug everything in and get the fish in there. Again, watch parameters either way, just like you would your DT.

Don't use hypo or copper in your DT, but in QT, that is what has been scientifically proven to work. Nothing else kills Ich.
+1, and be sure to treat ALL the fish not just the one you have a problem with. You will need to leave the display tank fallow for at least 6 weeks.
__________________
Minkota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 01:02 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Minkota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South Florida
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisc0930 View Post

I may be wrong. I was always told they need to cycle. Given that he already has it, it may be too late to start a QT
Yes and no, they do need to cycle but as long as there is a fish/host in the tank it will never go away. The tank needs to be fallow for a minimum of 6 weeks
__________________
Minkota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 02:08 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
Yes, treat all fish or it is almost pointless. The others will likely be a host and the cycle will continue.

Having the QT cycled is nice because the parameters will stay in check better, but water changes can work.

I'm not sure how many people keep a QT running all the time. I've always just had it in the garage and set it up for new additions or sick fish. I keep a big piece of sponge in my DT system and throw that in for BB. I am in the process of setting up a hexagon tank that I was using for freshwater as a permanent QT, so that will be nice.
__________________

__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clown, clowns, ick

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.