Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-03-2006, 09:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

My new clown has ick? Maybe more? Please help.

Hi, thanks for clicking. I'm somewhat new to the saltwater community so sorry if I sound like I really don't know whats going on.
Anyways I just picked up two clown fish from the LFS and yesterday night while in the quarantine tank i noticed that one of them looks like its molting right behind its eyes. This morning I checked them out again and I noticed that there were little wihte dots on both of them. Any advice or info on whether it is ick?
The pH seems a bit low, maybe 7.9 but I tested the water from the LFS and it seemed the same level as mine. Nitrite and nitrate were at 0. Thanks for any help.

Old 01-03-2006, 09:58 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Fortunately, I don't have any hands on experience to share with you but here are some sites for you to check out til someone else can help you. Some have photos to show you what to look for as well as info on treatment. HTH

http://www.wetwebmedia.com/ichartmar.htm
http://www.petsforum.com/personal/tr...marineich.html
http://www.reefkeeping.com/issues/2003-08/sp/index.php

Old 01-03-2006, 10:43 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

A picture of the fish would help a lot. Also NH3 and NO2 are going to be your biggest toxic treats in QT.
Old 01-04-2006, 11:41 AM   #4
steve-s

By "molting" do you mean something coming away from the fish (other than spots)? Small white stringy bits or more like wisps of mucus/cloudy like substance?

Cheers
Steve
Old 01-04-2006, 02:14 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie