Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-31-2004, 04:41 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 21
naocube ok for a QT?

Hi everyone. I just bought one of those 12 gallon Nanocubes. I'm just wondering if this is lage enough to use as a quarantine tank? Another question...what is the minimum time recomended for quarantining a new fish?

thanks in advance!! [/code]
__________________

__________________
squidlyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2004, 12:09 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: texas
Posts: 1,510
Two to four weeks depending on who you ask but two at the minimum. 12 gallons is fine for qt of new fish. Pretty much any safe container with a pump and heater will do. BUT if you were to have an outbreak in your main display and have to qt your entire stock it would depend on how many fish you have. Not corals or inverts, just fish. If you have a lot you might have a problem keeping them all for several weeks in a 12. But let's pray that doesn't happen. 8O
__________________

__________________
Good luck! Kat
90 malawia cichlid
55 planted tropical community
http://www.aquarank.com/in.php?id=fishfree
electrikat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2004, 05:01 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
I agree a 12 would be fine. Just do it one fish at a time and only a pretty small fish. I would lean towards the 4 weeks myself, may ailments will not show themselves until 2-3 weeks.
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 12:48 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 21
That is a good point about an outbreak. Unfortunately, I had an outbreak a few months ago because I wasn't using a qt. I guess I was lucky for several months, and thought I didn't need one.
What I thought was going to be the perfect final addition ended up being sick. I returned him, but lost almost everyone anyway. Only the little chromis made it.
Right now I have the 3 chromis and a pair of maroon clowns in my 90gal. I will most likely get a Niger then a Yellow Tang. Would you recomend getting something larger than the 12gal., or should I have a couple of small tanks in case I ever had to qt everyone?

thanks
__________________
squidlyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 08:49 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Not sure anyone has a QT tank large enuf for their entire stock, and you've got a 90g tank, with maybe 15 - 20 inches of fish someday. Tuff call having to think about the entire stock, and the possibility of'm all having to go to the hospital at once.

I've got a 75g and a 20g QT . I'd have a ruff time fitting the entire fish population from the main in QT too. I'd sure like to see what everyone else says about that question, but I'd get at least a 20g QT setup and hope for the best. Maybe some would say that in such an emergency - having to QT all, you might thave to go buy another tank real quick. seed it with the first QT tank's water and set up hospital.

Dunno, I'd be curious to hear other's opinions.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 11:09 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
Well I had to get a 40 gallon and still used 2-10 gallons to get all my fish out. Was a lot of water changing.huff huff.
For bringing is a new (small) fish a 12 would be fine. But if needed to treat your Chromis and you Clowns depending on their size, I would say a 20 gallon would be needed (at least). Using the main system's water would be OK, since you would be treating anyway .
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 11:26 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: texas
Posts: 1,510
It would not be unheard of to run out to Wally world and pick up a couple of 20 or 30 gallon tubs and hook them up to filtration and heat to qt them. I have a 20 gallon that I use for water changes and it could hold probably half of my fish comfortably for weeks. You would just need to add filtration and heat. We are about to set up a sump and fuge with two ten gallon tubs and will plumb them together. You could probably do this with multiple tubs for a qt also so you would only need one filter and heater for however many tubs you might need.
__________________
Good luck! Kat
90 malawia cichlid
55 planted tropical community
http://www.aquarank.com/in.php?id=fishfree
electrikat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 01:51 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 21
ok....thanks a lot for the advice!!!
__________________

__________________
squidlyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cube

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.