Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-15-2005, 05:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Need emergency help-reef tank

I just did a water change on my 16 gallon nano reef yesterday and everyone looked fine when i went to bed. when i woke up the tank was cloudy white and i could barely see my fish. Residents list= 2 sm percula's, 1 lawnmower blennie, 1 sm tomato clown, 2 shrimp, hermit crabs, and 2 anemones. My large bubble tip anemone had completely disappearedand i cant find a trace of him anywwhere. I've been running the system without a skimmer for several months but when this happened i called my lfs and they told me to put it on the tank and it should clear it up. Well it did in about an hour to the point where i could see into the tank and thats when i noticed my missing anemone. I tested the water and ph=8.1 (i raised it using seachem buffer), nitrites=.25, ammonia= 1.0, and the nitrates=15. I'm very worried about my other anemone and my fish. How big of a water change can the system handle? I usually do a 5 gall change every two to three weeks. Also is there anything else i can do, i'm very worried. I also think my bubble tip got sucked into a powerhead but i still cant even find pieces of him and he was about 6 inches in diameter.

Old 05-15-2005, 05:35 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

In my opinion you have too much in that tank. For a 16 gal tank the two percs are probably enough. I would wait a bit and see if it clears up. If not do another water change tomorrow and check your params again. If absolutely necessary your system can handle probably a 90% change. HTH

Old 05-15-2005, 05:36 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict