New 30something Marine Fish Only... need advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DragonsRus

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, all, this is my first time posting on this site. I've had a cichlid tank for some time now and have had great success with it. I've been doing research for the last few months on marine aquariums and I plan to set one up at the end of august when I move into my new apt.

I have a couple of options:
There is a 29gallon marineland setup that comes with the Eclipse sys 3 hood and other sw accessories (heater, hydrometer, test kit, instant ocean) for $200. Is it worth it?
I plan to have at least some live rock in the system to start with... I'm patient enough to let the base rock seed. Will the bio-wheel and the live rock work with or against each other? I have looked closely at the hood and (with a little creative cutting) would be able to put a seaclone 100 skimmer in the back all the way to one side. (Is this skimmer good enough?) The filter in the hood does 250gph.

If I don't do that kit, There is a 37gallon black seal tank I can get for $62. (same footprint as 29g) I know that long tanks are better than tall, but I don't have that much space. Which size is better? If I got this tank I'd have to buy all of the extras and I think the lighting would put me over the $200 mark. Any suggestions?

Ultimately I plan to get part live sand and part not, and base rock and a couple pieces of premium live rock. My fish of choice is a Dragon wrasse and I know it will need a bigger tank eventually (I plan to have more money by that time.) Does anyone know how fast they grow? I don't want to over stock.

As for the stand I'll build one (I have access to a shop).

Really, any advice I can get would be appreciated. And yes, I do own The Conscientious Marine Aquarist and The New Marine Aquarium.