Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-22-2013, 12:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 92
New foxface with ich

Think my new foxface might have ich. Is this a death sentence? He swims around fine. Eats a ton. Seems healthy, but has the white spots.
__________________

__________________
jeremy arsement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 01:07 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mr. FishMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 348
Sorry to hear that.. I don't know much on the subject as I've been so lucky as to never have gotten ich in any of my tanks, but I can try to help you as best I can.. Hopefully someone with more experience can chime in as well.. But for now, could you answer a few questions for us? Like how big is your tank and what are the parameters at?
__________________

__________________
Mr. FishMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 01:40 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
Ich can be treated and many fish survive. You want to treat with either copper or Hyposalinity (not both) in a QT. Leave your DT fallow for 6-8 weeks and you end up with everything Ich-free. Doing anything short of this leaves the possibility for future outbreaks.
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 02:02 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 92
Well I've had a successful fowlr for years. Have had a light bio load for the past several months. In there now is a pair of maroon clowns, a bird wrasse, and a peppermint shrimp. Just added the foxface, who acts healthy and eats, but has a few spots. The DT is 120 gal with a ten gallon sump underneath stuffed with some macro algae. I've never used a QT, been lucky I guess.
__________________
jeremy arsement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 02:32 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
I've had several tanks over the course of 30 years and most of the time I have not had problems with not using QT prior to adding new fish. The key word is "most"...lose $700+ in fish over the course of four days and suddenly QT seems like a low cost insurance policy. . I'm getting a used 240g this weekend and no fish is going in without being QT'd first. Ich is light compared to something like Velvet.
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.