Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 11-12-2005, 05:23 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
Send a message via AIM to Saith
New/old fish squabbling. will this work?

I got two orchid dottybacks yesterday, a male and a female. I acclimated them and added them into the tank. The flameback angel (african) keeps chasing them and nipping at them. I took out all the rock and removed the flameback. I really don't want to get rid of any of these fish. The rock work is completely different now. If I put the flameback back in, do you think they will start to get along. This is the first time I have added new fish and they didn't get along with the older ones, and I am really new at this. My understandig is that changing the rock takes away and territorial disputes. I guess I could try and put him back in and take everything out again. If anyone has some experience with this please share. Thanks

Saith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2005, 06:20 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Sometimes if you leave him out awhile, and give the new fish a chance to settle in and develop a territory, you will have better luck.

dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2005, 02:21 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
I had that problem in my 75g I just moved all the rock around creating different caves after that there really wasent anymore chasing. How big is your Tank?
125g~Zoanthid dominated~SPS~LPS~T. crocea~S. haddoni~2xSaddleback Clowns~Hippo, Kole, Achilles Tang~Leopard Wrasse~Flame Angel~Purple Firefish~Gobies~Chromis~3xCleaner Shrimp~2xHarlequin Shrimp~Pistol Shrimp
AquaReefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2005, 12:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
Send a message via AIM to Saith