Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-29-2015, 08:45 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 48
Nitirites and ammonia up in qt

I k ow copurmine can give false ammonia read I g but what about nitrites? Yesterday I did 25% and today I did another 25% both are still reading dangerously high.

I do not have a solid seeded filter from a salt tank. But can I use it from freshwater tank.

Sent from my HTC One using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
flipper0512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 09:04 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,531
You can not seed from a freshwater tank. The bacteria are totally different.
How are you cycling the tank? Are you treating the tank for copper?
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 09:11 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 48
Yes treat with cupirmine. It's been about 1 week. I knew it would cycle but didn't thi k it would go as quick as it did. And I k ow I can get some false readings. Plus ttyi g to balance the copper levels. Grrr. I wasn't prepared. Go figure I always learn the hard way. Any advice.

Sent from my HTC One using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
flipper0512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 09:14 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 48
It's a 10 gallon tank.

Sent from my HTC One using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
flipper0512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 09:31 PM   #5
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,531
Why are you treating the display tank with a copper based medication? Beneficial bacteria won't survive through it.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 09:40 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 48
No. Sorry. I pulled the hippo from the Dt and started an emergency 10 gallon hospital tank. Used water from Dt. No substrate or rock. Bubble filter with floss. No charcoal. Did first dose. 48 hours did second does. Check copper levels and We're good. 48 hours later check all stats and that's when I notice ammonia and nittries. 25 % water change. With water from Dt. 24 hours later 25% water change from Dt. Here we are. Thanks.

Sent from my HTC One using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
flipper0512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 09:59 PM   #7
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,531
Well, keep up with the water changes. There shouldn't be any issues on even seeing nitrites if you are doing such water changes to lower the ammonia levels.
Either way, I'm not familiar with copper based meds messing with the nitrite test.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2015, 09:02 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 48
Well water changes are still going. She still kicking. I added filter floss to the Dt for 3 days and now added that floss to the bubble filter. Think that was enough time to catch enough bacteria to help kick the cycle to the finish line?

Sent from my HTC One using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
flipper0512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Nitirites? Am I cycling correctly? kimkat Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 01-09-2015 06:35 PM
Help!!! Pet shop said ammonia and recommended ammonia remover & now things seem wors Tezhar Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 10-04-2013 09:32 PM
Help with fish-in cycling, high ammonia and tap water has ammonia Squall Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 10-17-2011 08:53 PM
High ammonia to low ammonia GoldenPlecTony Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 08-12-2011 03:52 AM
Found Ammonia for you fishless ammonia cyclers at Ace TomK2 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 03-22-2005 05:06 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.