Please help!!! Disease? What's going on....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

scsc2323

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
:!: I am very new to saltwater tanks. I set mine up and bought an angel and a dog face puffer. Due to being ill informed, my tank started to cycle, and I had to bring my fish to a local pet store. So I cycled my tank over the next 4 or 5 weeks with live rock, live sand, and crushed coral. All my levels were perfect, and I had my water checked professionally numerous times. It was now time to bring my fish home. After about 3 days, my angel was lying on the bottom of the tank, breathing slowly, and occasionally having some sort of spasm. It eventually just stopped breathing and died. And it died pretty quickly. I checked the levels again, and all of them were fine. The puffer appeared ok just fine and was eating well. 3 weeks later, my puffer starting looking very stressed, becoming ALL black and hanging out at the top of the tank. I have been doing water changes and checking my levels religiously. 2 nights ago, my puffer did the same thing the angel did, and died as well. Does anyone know why this could have happened? Any help would be appreciated, as I would love to have fish in the tank I have spent so much time on. Thanks!

(I think my puffer developed ich in his last stages, but from what I've read, I think something else killed him)

One thing people learn quickly in this hobby, patience is a virtue. There are numerous websites and magazines available for you to read and educate yourself. How large is this tank and please tell us how it is set up :)