Powder Blue Tang

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

skidrow52

Aquarium Advice Regular
Bought a PBT from new arrivals of a pet store, the fish in my tank since 2 days now and is not eating or grazing on the Live Rocks, it looks v healthy with no ICH symptoms.... the first day it was v shy and was only hiding bedhind the rocks but since yesterday evening I see him pushing himself in the wavemaker like it is playing or enjoying it, but do not want to eat ANYTHING, I am worried, water parameters are all good , other fishes are all doing well eating well... I know its hard to keep PBT"s I am a new saltwater fish hobbyist with a couple of months experience. I tried dry seaweed with veggie clips as well but it doesnt like anything to eat.

Pic is attached.

Attachments

• IMAGE_042.jpg
    IMAGE_042.jpg
    64.9 KB · Views: 126
Have you tried soaking the food and seaweed in garlic. Also try feeding some frozen mysis. If you do feed brine make sure it`s vitamin fortified.

hi Mike thanks for your quick reply, no I have no clue how can I do garlic soaking, shall I crush the garlic make a paste and add soak the seaweed in this paste?

You can get some garlic at most LFS. I think it`s called Garlic Guard. I`ve heard people going to the grocery store and buying garlic oil and using that. Dont forget to try frozen mysis also.

sometimes it just takes time for a fish to recover from the move. Usually after a few days they do start eating. Try hanging nori in the tank on a clip.

I tried to take it out last night but it hides behind the rocks and I couldnt make it, will try again today and remove him from the main display tank!

He was probably trying to deal with the spots when you thought he was playing in the wavemaker flow.