Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-04-2004, 04:49 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

Puffer Fish and Cleanup Crews

Hi, I'm totally new to saltwater, and have just started up our 70 gallon tank. I'm trying to look ahead to what fish we want to add once our tank finishes cycling, and I really want to get some sort of Puffer fish. The question I have is, I know that puffers eat invertebrates, so I assume that means I can't have a cleanup crew? If not, what should I do (I do plan on getting a skimmer) to make sure I don't have a whole bunch of unwanted growth/gunk?

Also, are there any suggestions for a certain type of puffer fish for beginners?

Thanks!

Old 02-04-2004, 06:09 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

Quote:
If not, what should I do (I do plan on getting a skimmer) to make sure I don't have a whole bunch of unwanted growth/gunk?
Frequent waterchanges and vacuuming of the substrate will help as well as aggressive skimming.

The dogface puffer is one of the more common and easier ones. Most are hardy, but prone to ick, quarantine and hyposalinity are a must with this fish.

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2004, 01:44 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular

Thanks for the advice. I looked around my LFS when I went to go buy live rock, but only saw a bunch of stars and stripes puffers. I'll have to keep an eye out for the dog face puffers.

Also, are there any suggestions as to what a good group of fish would be for a 70 gallon tank with a puffer? I'm thinking of starting off with a pair of ocellaris clown fish, and maybe ending with a blue tang since I read they eat algae.
Old 02-05-2004, 03:47 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist