Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-01-2004, 03:54 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Antonio,TX
Posts: 20
QT and sandbed

2 questions

1.When setting up QT,using water from main tank already cycled,what filtration system and how do you get the media to mature?Does it take a while before you can place fish from main tank into QT.I am going fallow after ich .

2.I have about 2 inch sandbed in main tank (half live sand, half agronite)I have never stirred up this substrate.Should I or will I disrupt things.I have 2 turbo snails, 3 Hermit crabs and a Chocolate Chip Starfish.Not sure how much they sift the sandbed.
Thanks for any suggestions!!!!!!
__________________

__________________
SABOB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 04:46 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
If you have Ich, you need to move them out and start treatment pronto. Don't worry about cycling the qt. If you use meds it will kill the bacteria anyway. You can keep the ammonia and nitrite levels down with water changes.
You inverts can stay in the main for the fallow period, they are not affected by the parasite . You may want to turn your main tank temp up to 83-84, this will speed up the lifecycle of the parasite.
Your not putting sand in the qt are you? This would disrupt any meds you would be using.
Good luck!
__________________

__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 09:51 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Antonio,TX
Posts: 20
No I'm not putting sand in QT.I was referring to main tank.The fish I still have are 2 Damsels and a Royal Gramma currently not showing any signs of stress or ich.
What type of filter is recommended for QT?I don't plan on treating current fish unless signs of ich appear.
__________________
SABOB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 10:05 PM   #4
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
First off do not disrupt your SB. You don't want to destroy the bacteria, or unlock any sulfide bubbles which I hope you don't have. (Doubt it if its only 2 inches) Anyways I think a small HOB filter with a sponge or fiber would work for QT, to catch the larger particles. Just rinse it every other day or so. Also I have seen some people use terracotta pots in their QT for the fish to hide. Also you don't need to use meds. Hyposalinity works very well, and you wont have to use any copper.

http://www.petsforum.com/personal/tr...osalinity.html
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 12:12 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Antonio,TX
Posts: 20
Thanks Six Line for your suggestions.I'm not sure how to tell if there are any sulfide bubbles.I've seen comments on other posts talking about sand sifting fish or inverts and was not sure if you don't have them if you need to manually stir things up or not.I'll leave it alone unless someone else has other opinions.
__________________
SABOB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 02:08 AM   #6
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Well if its only 2 inches you hsouldn't. You don't want sifters they eat all the good worms, and pods. So if you don't have more worms/pods then the animal can eat it could die. What you do want is shifters, (not sifters) I use nassarius snails. They do a great job.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 12:37 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 86
Do you keep your QT's up continuously? For example if you were treating with hyposalinity could you keep a QT running in parallel with your main tank? What would you need to add to the QT to keep the nitrogen cycle stable?

Van
__________________
cybercron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 01:36 PM   #8
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
If your using hyposalinity rather than medications, then I think you should have media... Mabye some base rock, or a HOB filter. Yes I would run it continuously.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 02:39 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: stigler,ok
Posts: 68
I have 1 inch live sand and 2 inches of agrogate on top which is crushed coral, shoud i use nassarius snails if so how many I have 4 turbos, and 1 conch, in a 55 gal with 6 hermits. Actually I just cycled 60 lbs of rock in my tank and have my fish and snails in my QT which has a bio wheel and filter, it is an eclipse 3 gal. with a 6 lbs of 1yr old lr on it.

Im thinking of throwing 50 nassarius and turbos in LR has suff sluffing off it.

what do you all think, to many, I think 25 might do trick, just dont know how many is two many.
__________________

__________________
frank dean
Man who stand on toilet to pee is high on pot
f-dean is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sand, sandbed

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sandbed in Sump cooltop Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 06-02-2009 02:49 PM
Do I need to Vac my Sandbed? goisles1 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 14 02-04-2009 04:39 AM
sandbed atomicbiscut Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 4 01-28-2007 07:27 PM
How deep is your sandbed?? STARFYRE Nano Reefs 8 01-08-2007 03:23 AM
Cleaning Sandbed Pacu Man Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 08-20-2003 02:43 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.