Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-01-2004, 10:18 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,134
I agree with all the post so far and would only add that if he doesnt want to gaurantee QT fish, then just dont tell him you have one! (that is if you cant find another LFS)
__________________

__________________
http://www.reef-aquarium.net

175gallon reef

5,100 gal pond

Fish are people too!
SquishyFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 12:02 PM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
yea, the whole "we wont warrenty something in a QT" just seems... odd. A fish tank is a fish tank. As long as you are checking the water regularly there is no difference wether its a QT or a 20 gallon FO tank its the same thing. If it gets sick in a QT you're 100% sure of why. Perhaps that's why they don't want to warrenty it. because you can be 100% sure it was sick when you got it from them.
__________________

__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 03:03 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 64
Therein lies the problem....if I try to start my qt now, and use water form my main tank and filter material from my sump, won't it be infected with ich since it hasn't been fallow for four weeks? Do I just need to wait four weeks to set up the qt? Or is there some other way to get it started without using anything from the main tank?
__________________
gefilte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 03:15 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 160
If the LFS store was concerned that most people don't know how to set up a QT tank and medicate/treat preventively then they are missing the big picture. A "good" "responsible" LFS would take the time to help you get the equipment needed and treat accordingly IMO.

From what I've gathered in my reading, parasites are always present but not always visible. Using water from your main tank for the QT is fine since you'll be treating it anyway.
__________________
wrkalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 04:28 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 64
I think I've missed something. Good thing y'all are here. What am I treating with?
__________________
gefilte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 05:42 PM   #16
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Most people do Hypo Salinity. I myself use copper after having lost a battle with Oodinium which is not killed off by Hypo..I would highly reccomend that if you decide to go with copper that you purchase a copper test kit. HTH
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 05:44 PM   #17
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Most people do Hypo Salinity. I myself use copper after having lost a battle with Oodinium which is not killed off by Hypo..I would highly reccomend that if you decide to go with copper that you purchase a copper test kit. HTH
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 05:44 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Athens, TN.
Posts: 3,598
Quote:
and use water form my main tank and filter material from my sump

Don't do this. Start the QT fresh. Sure it will cycle but you just have to watch the level real close. If you use stuff from you display it will be infected. 8O
__________________
Gerald

Vote for AquariumAdvice
dralarms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 06:54 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 64
Then how will I get the qt to cycle without anything live in it?
__________________
gefilte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 07:00 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Athens, TN.
Posts: 3,598
It's a QT. You are supposed to set it up, use it for however long, and take it down. It will cycle with the fish in it but watch the levels CLOSE.
__________________

__________________
Gerald

Vote for AquariumAdvice
dralarms is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lfs

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lfs???? miiah is da bomb Southwest & California 0 02-03-2009 11:15 PM
DIY LFS Be your own LFS - Just 49k on eBay! cmor1701d General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 12-25-2007 04:43 PM
no more LFS for me..... Dr.Nate Saltwater Reef Aquaria 21 11-14-2005 04:10 AM
LR @ LFS... sumphead Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 14 09-26-2003 02:43 AM
LFS shawnmarnie Aquaria Off-Topic 1 05-10-2003 03:09 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.