Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-01-2003, 10:47 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Danville, Indiana
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to brndfrb
QT tank HELP ME SICK Fish

I am setting up a QT tank and i have a few questions. I have read the article on this already but here are what i need to ask. I have a ten gallonj with a heater and a hob filter. Now i am not going to set up and tear it down every time i use it. So do i need to cycle it. What do i need to put in it or do i leave it bare. Please let me know. Thanks guys
__________________

__________________
brndfrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 12:30 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to toddwess
I took my filter for my 10 gallon QT and put in my display tank for 5 days, then put it in the QT tank. I had one of those penguin filters with the bio-wheel. After 4 days in the display tank, it was ready.

I have two clowns in the QT now being medicated for ich and they are showing improvment. I'm very pleased.

Folks say that when you QT is finished aclimating fish, you can put the filter back on the main tank untill you need the QT again. This is true, however . . . once you have medicated the QT tank, DO NOT place the filter back on the display tank. Especially if it was copper based medicine.

What I plan to do, is once my ich fish are fine, I will take the filter off the tank - close the tank down - clean the filter structure (the plastic and hoses and what not) and place a new filter pad and bio wheel on it (throwing the old ones away) and then put in on the main tank until I need the QT again.

I hope this helps . . . sich fish can be hard . . . I know . . .

Todd
__________________

__________________
toddwess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 12:50 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Danville, Indiana
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to brndfrb
Do i need to put any live rock or anything in there. How long do i have to wait to put my sick fish in there. I didn't use any of my show tank water. I used r/o water and added the salt. This may not have been the best thing in the world to do but i have to do something. They are sick. I don't want to loose them. I will be like loosing a friend. Please Help Me.
Should i put a piece of live rock in the QT tank or not. I just need to do something quick. Before they die. Thank you guys so much.
Brandon
__________________
brndfrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 09:09 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to toddwess
You don't need to have any live rock in there, but some hiding places would be a good idea. I use plastic drinking cups upside-down with "V"s cut in the sides of them.

As far as putting the fish in now, I can't tell you what to do. You say that you used RO water and added the salt. Then the water in the tank you have created will not kill them as long as the pH and temp are in the proper ranges as well. So, technically, the water you have created will support the fish. However . . .what you need to remember is that no bacteria has been generated yet to deal with the amonia and nitrites that will be generated from the sick fish. You will have to watch your amonia very closely if you decide to add them now. What filter did you go with for the QT? Did it spend any time filtering the display tank water?

I know how you feel. I really do. I had to set up my QT and get fish in there immediately, too. I set up the tank on Friday, and had fish in there on Saturday being treated for ich.

Today is Tuesday, and the fish are okay and seem to be getting better.

hope this helps . . .

Todd
__________________
toddwess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 04:08 PM   #5
Sam
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: West Caldwell, New Jersey
Posts: 347
Send a message via Yahoo to Sam
IMO you should try to put some of the show tank water in the QT. This will be best for the transfer. If you have a small piece of LR, put it also in the QT to start the cycling of the tank quickly. Definitely put some hidind places in there (some suggest pieces of 2" PVC pipe). Then stabilize the Ph, temp to the show tank settings and check your chemistry until the chemistry is good. Then add the sick fish. Depending on what you are treating for, you may want to remove any GAC from your filter pack to prevent removal of the medicine. Using the showtank water should allow for a quick cycle of the QT. HTH. 8)
__________________
Happiness is defined by the joy we bring to the lives of others, for without that, we ourselves cannot be.

Me
Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 06:34 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Danville, Indiana
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to brndfrb
how long should it spend in my show tank. I don't have alot of time to waste. It ihas been in ther for about 24 hours. Is that enough. Ok heres what i have done so far

10 gallon tanks
hob filter
heater
salinity 1.023
temp 80
hidding places
bare bottom
what else do i need to do??????????????????????? or is that it
__________________
brndfrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 07:55 PM   #7
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by brndfrb
what else do i need to do??????????????????????? or is that it
Decide on a treatment. What is the nature of the ailment?

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 11:59 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Danville, Indiana
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to brndfrb
It is ICH! I know that. Also what is something good to treat ich with? Should i treat the show tank also.
__________________
brndfrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2003, 12:17 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central PA
Posts: 971
You have to remove all fish from the main tank in order to treat ich by leaving it fallow (without fish), most notably if you have any inverts or plan to have any in the future. It is also good that you did not use liverock in the QT, it can and will remove some meds from the water column.

Exactly what and how many fish are you going to medicate? This is needed to implement a treatment as certain fish cannot tolerate certain meds. Also, if you add too many fish, the 10g QT can and will quicly build ammonia and nitrites, even if it is "cycled". Be prepared to monitor the water and do changes daily.

Does the PH, salinity, and temperature match your main tank water? If not, you need to acclimate the fish a bit as you would when you first purchased them.

I realize there are a bunch of questions and not answers, but the quicker you can answer them the quicker you can move to a safe treatment.
HoopsGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2003, 09:37 AM   #10
Sam
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: West Caldwell, New Jersey
Posts: 347
Send a message via Yahoo to Sam
One additional note on leaving the show tank empty of livestock. From what I've read, if within 3 weeks the parasite cannot find a host, they just die. So this is how long you need to leave the tank empty. As HoopsGuru stated, you need to base the dosage on the recommended amount for the QT. You may want to consider a medicated dip first as an aid in helping to slough off the parasites. Do a search on this site for information and advice on this. Based on the fact that you have the parasite in the showtank, do not use that water in your QT as you will just be introducing more parasites in with the fish. Good luck, keep us posted on your progress.
__________________

__________________
Happiness is defined by the joy we bring to the lives of others, for without that, we ourselves cannot be.

Me
Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ick, qt tank, sick, sick fish, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Health Fish but Sick Tank Frogspawn Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 12 12-27-2008 07:53 PM
My first sick fish of the new tank..Please help! Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 4 06-28-2006 12:58 PM
HELP - NEW TANK TAKE SICK FISH OUT? lliban Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 3 06-10-2004 09:16 AM
Planted tank/Sick Fish...HELP! BondStreet Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 28 04-10-2003 01:19 PM
HELP! Planted Tank And Sick Fish BondStreet Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 03-30-2003 02:46 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.