Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-02-2003, 12:38 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 94
QT tank set-up

Getting ready to set up a new QT tank. (getting a pair of ocellaris clowns.)
I'm going to use my old 20 that i just rid of freshwater fish. Wondering if the Whisper filter will work all right for the QT process? I don't anticipate that it should be a problem for a few short weeks, but then again I don't know everything. Also read in the articles forum a recommendation not to use a substrate. Just curious as to why this is benificiary? Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
Life looks better on the other side of the glass.
utahcutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 02:19 AM   #2
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
The whipser will do fine but I would run it on the main tank for awhile with some media in it to help colonize some sort of bacteria before getting the clowns.

Not having substrate is good for several reasons. It makes the tank easiler to keep clean, reduces the chance of trapped detritus and foods keeping water quality higher. It will also absorb meds rendering them less effective which is the main reason. Especially in the use of copper. Anything in the tank that is CaCO3 based will absorb copper like a sponge making it very difficult to maintain the levels at a proper range.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 03:37 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 607
Also get some plastic plant for making it better environment.

Qtank not only for new fish but also sick fish therefore everything in it must easily been clean/nuke after been use.
__________________
vega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 07:10 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cleveland, Oh. USA
Posts: 2,158
Send a message via AIM to ReefRaff Send a message via MSN to ReefRaff Send a message via Yahoo to ReefRaff
I use a 3'" PCV T in the Q-tank for hideing. makes the fish more comfortable
ReefRaff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 11:39 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 94
I plan on just using the decorations that I had with my FW set up. Yeah, they get the cool castle! Another question about not using substrate, what if you are QT'ing something like a goby that feeds of the sand bed. I'll probably head down to the LFS tomorrow to pick out the new guys. See if they'll hold them for me for a bit to make sure they are eating, and then bring them home. Yay!!
__________________
Life looks better on the other side of the glass.
utahcutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2003, 01:07 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 607
I still think its not advisible to add gravel in Qtank.
__________________
vega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2003, 02:16 AM   #7
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by utahcutter
Another question about not using substrate, what if you are QT'ing something like a goby that feeds of the sand bed.
I would honestly say leave it be. Sand sifting gobies rarely live long even in an established tank with plenty of sand critters. They are much like dragonets when it comes to captive survivability. They start out great but the natural food supply rarely if ever lasts and they soon starve. Seeing them eat does not mean they will do well in the aquarium.

That said though it really depends on the goby, so might be an idea to post the species.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2003, 10:32 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 94
well thanks for the info guys. I was just curious about the goby situation. I won't be adding one since I've already got one that eats anything i throw in the tank. he's great. how long do they usually live in captivity. this guy was full size when i bought him. they had been moving him from tank to tank at the lfs, even had him in with the sharks for a while. he's very curious and a blast to have in the tank. anyway, thanks again for the info. all psyched to get started now!
__________________

__________________
Life looks better on the other side of the glass.
utahcutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
qt tank, set-up, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My tank is now set up! Jenski Member Introductions 6 09-28-2009 05:08 PM
New tank set up Johnny Tuttle Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 09-07-2008 05:15 PM
Help With Tank Set-up Steven A Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 11-05-2005 09:50 AM
New Tank Set Up StripesTheEel Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 19 08-22-2005 09:50 AM
New tank set up fishyfishy Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 10-05-2003 12:00 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.