shark troubles - aquarists please help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

shark66

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Dear list,

I'm a graduate student studying feeding behavior of the chain catshark (or chain dogfish), Scyliorhinus retifer, for my thesis work. I've been having some sudden tank troubles though. These sharks seem to be having difficulty in moving around, almost like their muscles are cramped, and swimming extremely erractically. Additionally, many are dying and coming up with hemorrhaging on their skin. Recently a protein skimmer blew, taking most of the water out of the tank (150-gal), which I quickly restored before these benthic sharks became exposed. I lost one that day, and a few more the next (stress? oxygen levels?). Do you think that the sudden addition of new water (tap + instant ocean w. chlorine chelator) has caused these physiological changes. I'm wondering if any of you out there have professional experience in working with sharks or other elasmobranchs (cartilaginous fishes). If so, please email me ASAP privately, and I can send you pics and more chemical info from there. Thank you for your assistance. -matt

Thanks for your reply.

Had 10 sharks, now down to 4 (due to death), between 35-40cm in length. Being held in a 150-gal tank with mechanical filter, bioballs, sump system with a newly installed hang-on protein skimmer. Water quality has been poor as of late, but getting better. Nitrites are definitely an issue. Here goes:

Ca: 280 mg/L
pH: 7.8 (low)
phosphates (0)
nitrite: 0.5
Nitrate: 40
salin: 20-25ppt

I should also mention that this main tank (tank #2) is connected a 55-gal tank (tank #3) used for filming experiments, the shark in that tank seems to be doing much better.