Shrinking and expanding Anemone

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dlammert

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello,

First of all I am a saltwater newbie but have been doing a lot of reading/research and very recently starting reading many posts on this board... which by the way is full of GREAT information! First, a run down of my tank:

20g
UGF (I know, this is not recommended but I found out to late)
HOB whisper 20 power filter w/Activated carbon and zeolite mix
~8 lbs LR
2 black/white striped damsels
1 blue devil damsel
2 percula clowns
1 peppermint shrimp
1 pink tipped anemone
--------------------------
1 month old tank
0 ppm Ammonia
0 ppm nitrite
20 ppm nitrate
8.2 PH

I am saving for a protien skimmer to replace the undergravel filter. I will have questions when it comes time to break down the UGF (how to minimize stress on my inhabitants when I do the switch) but will wait until I actually have the skimmer to ask those questions.

My question today is regarding my anemone. I just purchased him last saturday and was doing fine...until last night. When I came to feed everybody I saw he was half balled up with limp grey tentacles. This morning however, he was back to his full glory looking seemingly normal. So far I am only using an 18" 15w 18000K Full spectrum powerglow flourescent light. Do I need better lighting for him? Also, How much and how often should I feed him. I have been told to feed him a piece of krill once a week so I have only fed him once.

Thanks in advance for fielding my questions and helping me along!