sick and dying corals

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fishman_91

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am relatively new to reef aquariums. I figured i would start off by using a 12g nano cube. I have had it for 5-6 months now. About two weeks ago my corals started looking sick. My star polyp has since died, and my torch coral is getting worse by the day. I regularly test ph, nitrite, nitrate, ammonia, and calcium. Everything is normal with the exception of a ph that drops occasionally. I do partial water changes every week/week and a half or so. I add iodide and trace elements and calcium when needed. I cant figure out what happened. Because my tank has many inhabitants, i am diligent with water changes and waste removal. My cleaner shrimp has also lost its appetie and is much less active. Several snails have died as well. Please help!

My inhabitants include:
false percula clown
bi-color blenny
royal gramma
cleaner shrimp
emerald crab
several margarita snails.

Since you mentioned pH, what is it normally at, when does it drop, and how much does it drop? Stop adding iodide and trace elements. If you don't test for it, don't add it. My hunch is the iodide, which many corals do not tolerate well unless carefully dosed/mixed/diluted.

What kind of supplements are you adding? PWC`s is all you need for trace elements with the possible exception of calcium. I`m thinking the iodine is the problem also.

The PH is normally at 8.2-8.3. When it falls, it usually falls to 8.0, although it has dropped to 7.8

The supplements were kent iodide, kent essential elements, and kent calcium, all liquid formulas.

I will stop adding anything and keep to my water changes. Also, what would you reccomend for keeping the PH at a proper level? Currently i am adding a powdered buffer that keeps it at 8.3 when it falls. Should i keep using that?