sick finger leather

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

newbie04

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Help, I just came home from vacation to find my finger leather black, it almost looks like a mildew. My son was keeping an eye on things while we were gone, he said that a few of the branches had polyps, that is until today, I don't see any. Reached in to touch the base and it feels spongy.

It has been in the tank for about six months. I not sure what to do, it ocasionally went into a dormant state, where the polyps did not come out for a day or two then it appeared to shed, but nothing like this.

I will try to get a picture as soon as possible.

I would appreciate any advice, I am new to the page and wanted to post this issue right away, since I don't know if this will affect anything else in the tank. I will add my tank spec's as soon as I can.

Thanks

Sounds like the coral is necrosing for some reason. Be sure you post all water specs when you get the picture posted or sooner if possible. If the black area's are concentrated at or near the base, try looking for any sign of a parasite.

Depending on your pic the coral may not be a loss and could be salvaged via fragging which wouldn't be a bad idea from the get go.

Cheers
Steve

ok checked the water every seems to be ok
PH 7.8
NO2 0 ppm
NH3 0 ppm
NO3 0 ppm

I'm also attempting to attach a picture, I hope it works.

If it is necrosing, I'm not sure that fraging with work, since I don't see any area that is not covered in the black yuck.

Any idea what might have caused it? Is a danger to the rest of the tank, should I remove it?

newbie04 said:
ok checked the water every seems to be ok
PH 7.8
If that is a test from this evening, the pH is terribley low. That could be one source for sure.