sick toadstool leather

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mimiweme

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi!
I'm a newbie here. I had a 55 gallon freshwater tank for many many years, then a friend gave me her established saltwater 24gal nanocube about 2 years ago. Because of room restrictions, I gave my 55gallon tank w/fish to a friend and its doing great a her house:).
I am really enjoying the saltwater tank, i have:
2 small ocellaris clowns
1 pajama cardinalfish
1 bicolor blenny
1 filefish
1 yellow goby
1 royal gramma
yellow polyps
orange zoanthids
torch coral
green star polyps
pulsating xenia
sun coral
toadstool leather mushroom
All fish are doing great- all corals are doing well except my toadstool- about a week and a half ago the polyp extensions quit coming out and I see some areas of hard white flaking areas around edges. my chems were fine except phos was elevated, and nitrates were 20 , so over 4 days I did 3 PWC, and chems are back okay, but toadstool still has no polyps coming out -any ideas?
looking forward to getting lots of info!

Leathers will slough every couple weeks. If it continues to act up I would do an Iodine dip.

what's a iodine dip?

Thanks for the advice, but this is my first time in 2 years that I've had a sick coral, so I don't know what a iodine dip or bath consists of. I've got Kent Marine concentrated iodine that i add weekly to the tank. :confused:

Ooooh.....I would highly suggest that you not add anything to your tank that you don't test for. Regular pwc's will keep your iodine at the recommended levels.

Leathers are really funny corals. They will look great for several weeks then the next day they look terrible. It's hard, but if you can leave it be for a day or two you might be surprised.

How about a picture of it?