Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-10-2004, 06:50 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 135
im think my tank is just recycleing since a lot of the bacteria from the sand is gone because i used to syphon it.

how bad is a 7.8ph?
__________________

__________________
80gal tank, 150lbs lr, 2x250w 14k mh
Fish: Emperor angel, 2 maroon clowns, blue tang, 6 line wrasse
popothemailman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 07:01 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
7.8 is a bit low. Ph should naturally fluctuate between 8.1 and 8.4, but should remain fairly stable at around 8.2 or 8.3. How often do you do water changes? Doing 15% every other week can help in buffering ph.
__________________

__________________
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 08:43 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 135
i do 10% water change once a week

should i use some ph up?
__________________
80gal tank, 150lbs lr, 2x250w 14k mh
Fish: Emperor angel, 2 maroon clowns, blue tang, 6 line wrasse
popothemailman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2004, 06:46 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Coral springs
Posts: 96
I had the same problem ,I upgraded from a 55 gal to a 125 ,ammonia went threw the roof nitrites were high, nothing I did worked, stated loosing fish
not much a believer in chemicals but found a few that were recomended and they did work ,first I added some prime to the water which lasts about three days I found, it makes the nitrites and ammonia not hurt your fish ,then I added this chemical from seachem called stablizer
It claims it will cycle your tank in seven days and it did, I was surprised as again I dont believe in alot of these chemicals but the store I used recently moved and all the tanks went nuts, they used it and liked it so I figured ok let me give it a shot, nothing to loose since I lost 7 out of 10 fish, between adding the prime in every three days to take care of the ammonia and nitrates and doing the stablizer as directed I was amazed that it resolved and was over
__________________
A BIG TANK WITH AWESOME LIGHTING AND LOTS OF FISH AND CORALS
DOES LIFE GET ANY BETTER THEN THAT
Mercury64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2004, 07:50 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 135
ok i have amquel which acts like your prime, but here is a question should i finish up the aquarium zyme(i have one more application tomorrow, and doesnt seem to be clearing up the cloudyness) and start up the seachem stabilizer?

did you have the same cloudyness i had?
__________________
80gal tank, 150lbs lr, 2x250w 14k mh
Fish: Emperor angel, 2 maroon clowns, blue tang, 6 line wrasse
popothemailman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2004, 08:38 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 135
correction my water is clearer that in was before, and my sand is starting to turn brown.
__________________
80gal tank, 150lbs lr, 2x250w 14k mh
Fish: Emperor angel, 2 maroon clowns, blue tang, 6 line wrasse
popothemailman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 12:46 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 135
i just added 65lbs of fiji live rock, tank is looking good. when can i start adding fish?
__________________
80gal tank, 150lbs lr, 2x250w 14k mh
Fish: Emperor angel, 2 maroon clowns, blue tang, 6 line wrasse
popothemailman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 03:01 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kamloops, BC
Posts: 206
Let the live rock cure for a while. When you get live rock there is an amount of dye off and your water parameters will probably go haywire for a bit. Keep testing the water and when the parameters go back to normal then add some fish. Don't forget to keep doing regular water changes as well.
__________________
easyian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 03:03 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kamloops, BC
Posts: 206
Sorry die off
__________________
easyian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 10:54 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
IMO I think it was the ammonia. I just moved my tank and I have 0 trates and trites and 0 ammonia. If you wanted to use something that helps with ammonia I have used Prime...its a good product but tends to through skimmers off line for a bit...Also I would stay away from Amquel if you can..again just my opinion. Sorry for the loss. I just had a clown pass myself due to a bowl obstruction.
__________________

__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.