Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-09-2004, 03:37 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 135
Someone Please HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

hey guys i need some big help my 3 fish died! I changed from a 55gal to a 80gal, the next day my blue tang died! i figured he was just sensitive, and highly stressed since all the water tests tests were good. My water staid cloudy for a week and my wrasse was looking sick. I asked the man at the fish store and he game me some "Aquarium Zyme" to clear up the bacteria bloom and reestablish lost bacteria, he said it was better than Stress zyme. I did and my wrasse passed away the next day, yesterday before i put the second dose i notice my eel was sick, i put in the dose and left. this morning my eel died. Whats going on???? PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!

PS: the instructions on the bottle: 1oz for every 10gal every other day for a total of 3apps

thank you[/b]
__________________

__________________
popothemailman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 03:39 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 135
forgot to tell you my tests last night....

Amonia: .3
PH 7.8

everything else is great
__________________

__________________
80gal tank, 150lbs lr, 2x250w 14k mh
Fish: Emperor angel, 2 maroon clowns, blue tang, 6 line wrasse
popothemailman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 03:54 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to penguinsix Send a message via MSN to penguinsix
pH is too low not sure on the ammonia but i think it is too high, what were you nitrites and nitrates? i would wait for someone else to saysomething because i am relativitally new to this, kinda.
__________________
Tanks:

2.5 gallon nano -3lb of LR, 3 LBS of LS and some Caulerpa prolifera and a trumpet coral and some xenia.

29 gallon - getting ready to cycle.
penguinsix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 04:20 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 804
If you used all of the water and biological filtration from the 55g there should be no NH3 spike unless you did too much cleaning during the move. What were your parameters before the move? PH wouldn't drop that low if your water is properly buffered. More info on your tank and how you did the upgrade would allow a more definitive answer.
__________________
46g SW, 65 lbs Fiji LR, 4" Aragamax DSB, Coralife 2X96w CF, CPR Bakpak II, CPR Aquafuge 12 w/ 2x9 Coralife Mini Aqualight, 4 Maxijet 600's, PCI 200W Titanium Heater, 2 Blue Green Chromis, 1 Gold Bar Maroon Clown, 1 Purple-Stripe Dottyback, Finger Leather, Trumpets, Rose Coral Open-Brain, Pagoda Cup, Xenia, Star Polyps, Yellow Polyps, Various Mushrooms, Toadstool Leather, 12 Astraea, 10 Nassarius, 4 Bumble Bee, 6 Cerith Snails, 12 Red Tip Hermits.
phases99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 04:26 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Atari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,468
How long had the first tank been setup and did it have a DSB?
__________________
My wife and I were happy for twenty years. Then we met.
- Rodney Dangerfield.


Click HERE to vote for Aquarium Advice!
Atari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 05:50 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: edmonton
Posts: 685
I was thinking along with phases. I have done too much of a water change and had fish die(it was freshwater but saltwater is similar). If they lose too much beneficial bacteria that causes big problems.
__________________
Edmonton Eskimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 06:04 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 135
my 55gal was up for about 4 months, and dumb me used to syphon the sand. that led to a bacteria bloom and i got cloudy water in the last month having the 55gal. when i transfered to the 80gal the cloudiness continued...

nitrite 0
nitrate 2.5(next bar up is 0)

when i switched tanks i first emptied all the water into a lot of blue water jugs, and had the fish in a 5gal bucket with stress coat. i then scooped the sand with a clean little shovel into the new aquarium then in one spot of the tank added all the water to prevent the sand of mixing all around.

before that i believe i had an ammonia of 0 to .2 and my ph was 8 to 8.2... as somedays it changes... nitrite was 0 and nitrate was 2.5.

i do water changes once a week and use amquel after each. when nitrite or nitrate is hight after a water change i use amquel plus. and every once in a while i add novaqua.

should i add some ph up?

would live rock help...if i added live rock(fowlr) do i remove the bioballs?
__________________
80gal tank, 150lbs lr, 2x250w 14k mh
Fish: Emperor angel, 2 maroon clowns, blue tang, 6 line wrasse
popothemailman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 07:33 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Hi, sorry to hear about your troubles. I think amonia could be the problem. Any detectable anomia is too much for the fish. It is possible that the amonia spike is a product of the dead fish. How long were they in there after they died? I still think it was the cause of, not product of, the deaths. Not sure what caused the spike though...Lando
__________________
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 08:06 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
IMO its not the ammonia at that low of a reading and in only 3 days. Where did you mix the new water for the tank and how long was it mixing before you added the fish? Did you acclimate the fish to the new tank at all and was it up to the right temp? Adding 30 gal of new water I would have acclimated them, just like when you brought them home.
You have no LR at all? So the only bacteria you transferred was from the sand?
A PH drop like that IMO could have killed the fish. 8.2-7.8 without any acclimation.. Maybe you did acclimate I don't know just thinking out loud....
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 02:08 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: edmonton
Posts: 685
If you are using amquel it doesn't remove the ammonia it just makes it not dangerous for your fish. Your ammonia reading could be telling you it is there but it really isn't. I'm curious
__________________

__________________
Edmonton Eskimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.