Something eating hermit crabs and turbos

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jbing27

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm new to this hobby. My 24 gallon Nano Cube has been populated for about 3 weeks since it finished cycling. Most of what is in the tank came from a 20 gallon established tank, so I have some nice live rock with pulsing xenas, mushrooms, a few brown polyps and coraline. I have a small white damsel, a true perc (1 1/2"), an orange banded goby, and a small peppermint shrimp. I also put in 6 turbo snails, and 9 red legged hermit crabs. 2 of the snails have been killed and partially eaten before I found and removed them. Yesterday I found 2 partially eaten hermits, and today I just found another. I observe bristleworms protruding from the rock and have managed to catch and dispose of a couple on occasion. I am at a complete loss as to the cause of my invertibrates getting knocked off one at a time. That little damsel is pretty aggressive and is always posturing at the goby and clown, but he's real small and they stand up to him and back him down. Has anyone ever heard of a damsel killing snails and hermits? The only other suspect would be the bristleworms, but they are not that big,and they are the white kind--not fireworms. Any insight would really be appreciated.

Totally a guess, but I'd say your hermits are killing your snails, and your dead hermits are actually just the molts from the hermits. OR, if you're absolutely positive they're not molts, the crabs are killing the crabs.