sting ray died 5 hrs after i bought it!! :(

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fakewake00

Aquarium Advice Newbie
ok i need help becouse i just bought a pretty expensive costa rican spotted sting ray today, and it died a few hours after i bought it. :x i got home and it was dead, stuck between 2 rocks. when i bought it, it was one of the only ones with a pink nose (is a pink nose bad?). i want to buy another one tomorrow before they run out, cuz theyre pretty rare, but i dont want that one to die as well. is there something that i need to know??
:?:
-andrei

the tank is cycled and it has rocks and plants in it, but no other fish (they all died a while ago--i think it because of ick). could it have died if there is not enough space for it (too many rocks?).
andrei
ps--what are parameters? (im pretty new with aquariums)

the tank is cycled and it has rocks and plants in it, but no other fish (they all died a while ago--i think it because of ick). could it have died if there is not enough space for it (too many rocks?).
I would suggest figuring out what all the other fish died.. And going from there.. A Ray needs a well established very large tank with just a fine sand substrate.. They are only recommended for Experts.. What size tank do you have..

what are parameters? (im pretty new with aquariums)
Just with statement I would Urge you not to buy another one.. Parameters are ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, alk, Ca, ph, Salinity.. All these need to be in check way before you put any fish in the tank.. FWIW they say most Rays need a 300g + tank to survive in.. And I highly doubt you have a tank that big...

Please spare the Rays life and DONT buy another one.. They are not for beginners.. You will end up wasting your money and killing another fish..

HTH<
James