Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-06-2006, 04:48 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

Tang aggresion question

I added a sailfin to my main today and the purple tang started pestering him. Just constantly pushing against him. I caught the purple tang and put him in my fuge. How long should I leave him there before I return him to the main? I have never had a problem before so I am new to this.

Old 01-06-2006, 05:01 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
Purples are known for their major aggressive tendencies. I would wait until you have completely finished adding fish, or at least tang-like species. If you are finished, then I would give him at least a couple weeks or more in solitary. Is it also substantially larger than the other tangs? If so, you may always have problems.

Old 01-06-2006, 05:26 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

The sailfin is larger than the purple. The purple gets along great with the convict and regal tangs. He is not a happy camper in the fuge. At least he has plenty to eat.
Old 01-06-2006, 05:27 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
The convict and regal do not have the same body type....he doesnt see them as being important
Old 01-06-2006, 05:36 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict

I was aware of them only going after same body type. I figured since the purple was young and the sailfin was larger it would be minimal. I asked a question about this a couple months ago and the responses I got thought it would be fine also. They were only in the main together for less than 5 minutes. I may give him another chance soon and give them more time together to see what happens. I have rigged a neat fish trap. If it still causes a problem. It only took me about 10 seconds to catch him.