Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-22-2003, 11:27 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 273
There is no way anyone could have put something in. My son & husband dont touch my tank. Its a rule at my house I am the only one who goes near it and we have not had guests.. I know there has to be a reason. Thanks for trying to help me find out what it is...
__________________

__________________
Act on your impulses.. You'll feel good now & it will give you something to regret later!!
reefobsessed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 11:30 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 273
Yes the only new addition is the top. The set up is like this. Tank one inch spacers then top then KH hangs 6 inches above top. So even if it where a toxic gas there is a one inch gap between the tank and top for it to get out.. The back also has a two inch opening where the top does not cover it...
__________________

__________________
Act on your impulses.. You'll feel good now & it will give you something to regret later!!
reefobsessed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 11:32 AM   #13
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
Run ome carbon in the meantime if you can.
__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 11:48 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 273
Darin what is OME carbon?? After I read your last post I changed the carbon in my canister filter. Its is Kent reef carbon. WIll that do or should I be getting something else at the LFS??
__________________
Act on your impulses.. You'll feel good now & it will give you something to regret later!!
reefobsessed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 11:52 AM   #15
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
Whoops should have been some carbon. I'm typing to fast lately. You could try some purigen by Seachem or a poly filter.
__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 11:59 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: virginia
Posts: 88
When you said two cups slowly, what does that mean. Did you drip it or just pour it in. It sounds like PH shock for the fishes from the calk. I might be off base her but no one asked how fast you add the kalk. Two cup will still send you ph up a points or so.
Depending on when you test you tank everything might of drop back down to normal.
__________________
Strictly Marine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 12:05 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 273
I used to mix exactly the same way and then pour the entire pitcure in. The 2 cups & just poured slow as I couldnt get the tube to stay in the pitcure when I tried to drip. Maybe it was the change from B-ionic then kal... I did a chewck on the PH before and after and it is lightly changed but not enough to kill everything in an hours time....And I did use PH buffer.....
__________________
Act on your impulses.. You'll feel good now & it will give you something to regret later!!
reefobsessed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 12:07 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 273
I need a hug
__________________
Act on your impulses.. You'll feel good now & it will give you something to regret later!!
reefobsessed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 12:23 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greenwood, SC
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via AIM to Electrobes
::hugs reffobsessed:: I semi know how you feel, in my newbie moment of idicy I dumped in a large amount of powered pH and it got onto my corals **** near killing them... thus far I am not even sure if most of them will be coming back
__________________
Electrobes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 06:03 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 852
Send a message via MSN to sumphead
*hug hug* You triggered something though when you mentioned the powerhead thing. Do you have a grounding probe on the tank? It is possible, as you mentioned, to have an electrical problem. Are your inverts OK? Snails, hermits, etc...

R
__________________

__________________
I wish I had a nickel for every miracle that you easily tricked me into. -Chris Robinson
sumphead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan, tank crash

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Tank Crashed ? s10469 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 02-06-2008 04:16 PM
HELP! Tank crashed over night... bmb4516 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 24 10-14-2004 06:37 PM
Running skimmer after tank has crashed reefobsessed Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-24-2003 07:20 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.