Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-15-2005, 10:10 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 485
Send a message via AIM to badfish
Tank is up - few quick questions.

Ok, so i set up my tank on sunday, it is a 50 gallon oceanic tank, i used instant ocean salt, tap water (i know, wish i went with RO), just added 30lb of baserock from hirocks.com, and looking to add 25lbs of keys rock from liverocks.com. I have two maxijet 1200 in each corner pointing to the middle of the front of glass. and two heaters in the back corners. Just won my BakPak 2 on ebay and should be here early next week. I added two shrimp on sunday also. My questions are.
1 - how much longer till water is clear? (i did rinse substrate and baserock, getting little clearer each day, but still cloudy)
2 - when should i add water conditioner, and which brand? And i will be using RO from now on for top offs and water changes.
3 - when should i start testing, i got the seachem multitest kit.
4 - when should i set up Quarantine Tank? i will be setting up a 10 Gallon tank with heater, and airstone and maybe a foam filter. Do you have any suggestions, Powerhead???
5 - can i just use 10 gallons from when i do a water change from my big tank and use it for qurantine tank? of course i would change 20% of that water and let it sit for a couple of days before adding fish.
6 - should i be adding anything else, or be doing anything else, is this weekend to early to add liverock.

guess that is a bigger list then i thought.

TIA

- Jeff
__________________

__________________
badfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 10:21 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: texas
Posts: 1,510
It will take a few days to settle the cloud. You may need to turn of the ph for a couple of days. You can add the live rock asap. You could have cycled the tank with it. You will need to start testing right away but expect the cycle to take 2 to 3 weeks. Add the conditioner right now every time you add water. I use Prime but most any conditioner will work. Don't worry about setting up the qt till you actually are ready to add fish. Maybe a couple of days earlier. Yes you can use the water from the main, but don't put it back when you're done with it. Don't buy fish till the ammonia and nitrite are at 0, then do a large water change before you add fish to it. You can add the clean up crews after the first water change after cycling. I say the Prime conditioner because it does many things. Removes chlorine, cloramine, and ammonia. Plus it detoxifies nitrite and nitrate. Then it also adds a slime coat protector that doesn't mess up your skimmer like some of them do. It is super concentrated and if you use it correctly it will last a while.
__________________

__________________
Good luck! Kat
90 malawia cichlid
55 planted tropical community
http://www.aquarank.com/in.php?id=fishfree
electrikat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 10:38 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 602
The QT tank is VERY controversial on this board. The bottom line, though, is that if you want to be safe, you will add fish to QT 30 days or more prior to when you want to add them to your tank. You may even want to put a fish in QT now while your tank is cycling, so that it can go in at the completion of the cycle.

Just a few notes about your post. I ran my powerheads the whole time my water was cloudy, and my water is now clear. The reason I ran them is because I wanted the sand to settle in the places it would STAY when the PHs were running. I was afraid that if I kept them off, the sand would settle evenly, and the PHs would stir some of it up when I turned them back on. Just wait for it, it will clear.

I didn't use any water conditioner at all until I had a small spike after adding my LR, then I used Prime.

Also, if you keep a small sponge filter in your sump (I have my inflow going through one), you can use it as the QT filter when you need your QT tank, so you won't have to keep a QT running after you add the bulk of your fish. If you need a QT, you then simply add tank water to the QT tank, pop in the sponge filter, and you're off. This is the PERFECT way to be ready for a hospital tank situation, since you can transfer sick fish immediately without the added stress of acclimation.

Note: if you're worried about nitrates being added by the sponge, I would think that it's minimal, but you can rinse the sponge periodically (a good idea anyway) to keep the added nitrates to a minimum while keeping the filter at least slightly active.)
__________________
30 gal standard 55 lbs LR, 60 lb live sand, 10 gal sump/refugium. Urchin skimmer, mag7 pump, 3 x 96W PC combination 10,000K/actinic bulb, 2 blue LED moonlights
SG 1.024, temp 79.5, pH 8.4

Livestock I added:

1 skunk cleaner. 12 hermits: red, scarlet, blue. 15 or so assorted snails. Discosomas, Ricordia, Rhodactis mushroom corals, chaetomorpha (sump), 1 feather duster, Montipora digitata, Montipora capricornis, Montipora hispids. assorted zoos, Xenia, Kenya tree coral, green Sinularia, green star polyps, branching hammer coral, bubble coral, Devil's hand leather. Yellow chromis, purple firefish.

Hitchhikers: the usual suspects :crabs, bristles, urchin, mantis shrimp (now in exile in mantis tank)

List of possible/likely newcomers:

Feather duster. PJ cardinal, Bangghai cardinal, Firefish goby, Clownfish, Neon goby, Yellow watchman goby, Orchid dottyback. Various corals.
midiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 10:42 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 485
Send a message via AIM to badfish
what if i dont have a sump. should i just place the sponge filter in the main tank?
__________________
50 Gallon Oceanic: 2 maxijet 1200's, 2 150 watt visitherm heaters, BakPak II Skimmer with PS & BT, Coralife Lunar 2X65 watt Power Compacts

Filtration: 50lbs LR.com, 60lbs sand

Swimmers: 2 O. Clowns, Yellow Watchman, Firefish, Yellow Tang, Dottyback.

Clean-Up: Several snail & hermits, Skunk Cleaner, 2 Peps.

Corals: 2 zoo colonies, yellow polyps, star polyps
badfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 10:53 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
Re: Tank is up - few quick questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by badfish
1 - how much longer till water is clear? (i did rinse substrate and baserock, getting little clearer each day, but still cloudy)
The water will go through many yucky stages before it clears for good. You'll see the sand storm, the cloud while the ammo part of the cycle starts, and then the diatoms (brown algae covers everything). You'll find the waiting through this unbearable but this too shall pass.

Quote:
Originally Posted by badfish
2 - when should i add water conditioner, and which brand? And i will be using RO from now on for top offs and water changes.
I don't add any water conditioner. You don't need to. The clorine, et al in your tank right now will be dissapate before the tank ever sees fish. The RO/DI doesn't need anything in it other than salt mix if you're doing a water change (nothing in it for top offs).
Quote:
Originally Posted by badfish
3 - when should i start testing, i got the seachem multitest kit.
If you start testing now you'll know when you peak with ammo, trite and then trate. Expect your trate to end the cycle high and then you'll do a large water change (about 2w after the trite drops to 0 and stay there) to bring them back down.
Quote:
Originally Posted by badfish
4 - when should i set up Quarantine Tank? i will be setting up a 10 Gallon tank with heater, and airstone and maybe a foam filter. Do you have any suggestions, Powerhead???
I put my filter in my sump while my tank cycled so that it had a bio bed in it. I just have a 15g tank and a bubble filter thing that probably does little more than add O2 to the water. It's holding up just fine though. No need for a powerhead. Definitely a heater.

Quote:
Originally Posted by badfish
5 - can i just use 10 gallons from when i do a water change from my big tank and use it for qurantine tank? of course i would change 20% of that water and let it sit for a couple of days before adding fish.
I wouldn't use 10g from your main until well after it has cycled. You want your water to be 0-0-0 when you start QTing new animals.

Quote:
Originally Posted by badfish
6 - should i be adding anything else, or be doing anything else, is this weekend to early to add liverock.
You can add live rock now (and take out the shrimp). That should finish up your cycle nicely.

Enjoy!
__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 11:18 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 485
Send a message via AIM to badfish
Hey guys, thanks for the good advice. You guys are great javascript:emoticon('')
thumbs_up
__________________
50 Gallon Oceanic: 2 maxijet 1200's, 2 150 watt visitherm heaters, BakPak II Skimmer with PS & BT, Coralife Lunar 2X65 watt Power Compacts

Filtration: 50lbs LR.com, 60lbs sand

Swimmers: 2 O. Clowns, Yellow Watchman, Firefish, Yellow Tang, Dottyback.

Clean-Up: Several snail & hermits, Skunk Cleaner, 2 Peps.

Corals: 2 zoo colonies, yellow polyps, star polyps
badfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 01:42 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dubuque, Iowa
Posts: 354
badfish,

I just added my water/shrimp to my 75g last Sunday as well and had the same questions - thanks for asking for me
I expected the shrimp to start to smell in a few days but right away Monday morning when I opened the lid I got a good wiff of it already.
I have the same cloudy water (I'm leaving the ph's on) and zillions of tiny bubbles from my skimmer - which are supposed to clear up in a week or two.
I was wondering about the amount of water current in there. I used to have fw tanks and am not used to seeing so much water movement. I also have 2 maxi jet 1200's in the same position as yours plus a canister filter with the return flow directed parallel with the back glass. Just watching the movement of the bubbles I can't imagine how a little clown fish etc is going to get any rest fighting all the current in there.
The ph's actually generate little tornado's at the middle front of the tank!
__________________
havefun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2005, 02:32 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Columbia Maryland
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to 4inchSandBed
GOODLUCK with your TANK badfish
__________________

__________________
4inchSandBed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ick, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 quick questions flip_lx Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 15 05-21-2007 11:35 AM
New tank - some quick questions Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 02-05-2006 01:08 AM
A few quick questions about a Cichlid tank. FUBAR Cichlid Discussion 23 11-21-2005 12:20 AM
got my tank running have a few quick questions.... plz Jonathan G. Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 02-13-2005 09:55 PM
a few quick questions before i set up my 75 gl tank Jonathan G. Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 01-08-2005 11:32 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.