Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-06-2011, 03:59 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
Ph is 8.4 by my monitor, 8.0 by API
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0

I didn't test for nitrate as I don't think that's the culprit.

How do you deal with something you can't test for?
__________________

__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 05:11 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
So we didn't use all the LR and I ended up leaving it out in the garage in the cold with no water. I planned in selling of trading. Is it too late to add some to the tank/sump?
__________________

__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 07:06 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
how much rock? it's probably going to cause another spike.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 10:31 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
I was thinking of a few med pieces in the sump and a couple in the DT

But I have plenty in both. Just wanted some overkill
__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 11:47 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
well, i would not add it then. better safe than sorry. if you want, cure it in a separate container then add it later.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 08:11 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
So, we're thinking that temperature was the culprit as it was cold during the move and the fish were exposed to the cold water for a while. But so was the shrimp.

The water parameters are fine. I can only assume that was it.

I'm thinking that I can start adding fish soon if the test remain as they are.
__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 08:49 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nxb161's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 737
Sorry for your loss. How far was the move?
__________________
~Nick
nxb161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 04:52 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Turbosnail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 287
How did you acclimate the fish? I have heard going from cold to warm is worse than warm to cold.
__________________
Turbosnail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 09:36 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
The move was about 40 minutes drive.

I actually didn't see the fish get added to the tank. I had to run out to Lowes for plumbing. I assume they added them with the water we kept from the tank then the temp was raised.
__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 05:05 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Turbosnail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 287
If the fish were added quickly, or dumped from cooler water into warmer tank water, I think that would do it.

I am sorry for your loss.
__________________

__________________
Turbosnail is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
move, tan, tank move

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I move german ram eggs from tank to tank? treverchaos Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 2 10-24-2010 09:43 PM
Would it be bad to move rocks around while mother is holding Marconis Cichlid Discussion 2 11-27-2007 03:37 PM
Bad Hubandry leads to bad tank john0087 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 02-05-2007 11:52 PM
How To Move Eggs From Tank Sides to Breeding Tank? DarylF2 Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 8 06-23-2006 01:13 AM
Need to replace tank/choose tank and move inhabitants. HELP sherry Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 10-28-2005 11:11 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.