Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-25-2004, 06:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Total Tank Wipeout

I just experienced a T/T/W. After removal of fish, do I treat water and for how long. No copper I have L/R and L/S. Wipeout was caused from a fish I bought from PetCo.(I know) never again. It had Marine Velvet. I'm new at this and by the time I realized what it was, it was to late. Everyone PLEASE be careful and stay with a shop you trust. T/I/A Vince

Old 07-25-2004, 06:47 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist

dang, sorry to hear that sfgiants 8O I take it you skipped the QT step ?

Old 07-26-2004, 02:46 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

I'm so sorry to hear about your tank. I'm way too new to have any advice, but take some comfort, if you can, in knowing that your experience will help others--like when I'm staring at empty display tank and one little fish in the QT tank and wishing it could all go faster. I'll remember what you went through and learn from it!
Euroreef ES5-3
2x Maxijet powerheads
Mag drive 9 return
Coralife 4x65 Lunar Aqualight
120 lbs rock from liverocks.com
1 peppermint shrimp and 1 fire shrimp (very shy)
2 black Ocellaris, Squish and Smudge
3 chromis, too identical to name as yet, in QT
10-gallon tropical
29-gallon with two goldies, Carrot and Orangehead
blorkiemom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2004, 02:47 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak

Send a message via AIM to luntiz
I believe you should wait about 6 weeks to be safe.

50 Gallon Acrylic Tank (36x15x20)
85lbs Fiji Live Rock
Barebottom
(4) Maxi-Jet 900 (230gph) *Awaiting 2 MJ1200s*

Lighting

(1) 250W 10,000K Aqualine Aquamedic HQI Hanging Pendant
(5) LED Moonlights

Live Stock

(2) Pink Skunk Clownfishes
Goldstripped Maroon Clownfish
Yellow Eye Kole Tang