Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-28-2005, 10:13 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Arkansas, USA
Posts: 278
Send a message via AIM to Ximat
What am I doing wrong?

The corals in my tank seem to look less than lively. They don't look dead, they just don't look like they are flourishing. The LFS I get them from their tanks look pretty good (i know they aren't maintained well, but they still look good)

Here's what I got:

Xenia (doing good, but from time to time they don't look to well)
Brain
Frogspawn
Colt
Finger Leather
Red Mushrooms (have a green tint now, didn't before)
Hairy Mushrooms (don't get near as large as they did at the LFS)

Here's my tank specs:

Amonia: 0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 0
PH 8.1-8.3
Calcium: 420
SG: 1.023
Temp: 77
Lighting: 6.4 wpg
Flow: 18.5 GPH

Any advice?
__________________

__________________
Ximat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 10:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gainesville, Florida
Posts: 346
Send a message via AIM to Brodie
What kind of lighting do you have? What type of lighting does the LFS have?
__________________

__________________
Be ocean minded, keep our beaches clean.
Brodie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 10:44 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Arkansas, USA
Posts: 278
Send a message via AIM to Ximat
I should have mentioned that.

Mine:

2 VHO (1 Super Actinic 110w 1 10k Actinic White 110w)
48" PC (4x65w)


LFS: 2 110w VHO on a 125g tank. (not kidding)
__________________
Ximat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 10:52 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: mid west
Posts: 77
I add iodine to my tank my zinnia is now splitting and doing great my tree coral has a little one as well. Maybe that would help you out.
__________________
ashobson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 11:41 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Arkansas, USA
Posts: 278
Send a message via AIM to Ximat
I add a little bit of Iodine, not much since i don't have a test kit for it, but my xenia has split several times.
__________________
Ximat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 11:44 PM   #6
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Alkalinity?
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 11:47 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 869
Send a message via ICQ to jackdp
Ximat...just a thought... do you run GAC somewhere in a filter or skimmer? If not it could be from having those softies in with LPS. Some chem warfare could be going on. I've noticed this in my tank when I've taken the GAC out for extended periods.
__________________
Brad C.
jackdp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 11:55 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Arkansas, USA
Posts: 278
Send a message via AIM to Ximat
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58
Alkalinity?
Good question, i haven't checked that. Gotta order a test kit from online. The LFS doesn't carry that one.
__________________
Ximat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 11:56 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Arkansas, USA
Posts: 278
Send a message via AIM to Ximat
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackdp
Ximat...just a thought... do you run GAC somewhere in a filter or skimmer? If not it could be from having those softies in with LPS. Some chem warfare could be going on. I've noticed this in my tank when I've taken the GAC out for extended periods.
I have Emperor 400 filters and use the typical Marineland Rite Size "G" filter. It has Carbon and Floss.
__________________
Ximat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2005, 12:31 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
Quote:
add a little bit of Iodine, not much since i don't have a test kit for it,
If you don't test for it, don't add it. Period. Iodine is toxic when even slightly over dosed. I would almost be willing to bet it's high. With what you have stocked in the tank, PWC will easily replenish iodine/iodide.
__________________

__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What am I doing wrong? yohann976 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 8 08-12-2008 01:45 AM
SO WRONG..!!! ....? EdgarMedina1010 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 06-18-2006 09:59 PM
What am i doing wrong? Joey17 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 8 09-10-2005 04:41 PM
ok, what am I doing wrong? Meredith Forum Admin & Announcements 8 01-09-2005 04:19 PM
Did I do something wrong rdefino Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 11-01-2004 12:07 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.