Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-28-2004, 08:50 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
Quote from Steve S
Quote:
Any parasite may be transfered even if it was only a short time. Transfering anything btween QT and display is not advisable even if you may think it to be safe
HTH!

PS. What size sponge did you use, and what kind?
__________________

__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2004, 12:35 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 265
revhtree, my sponge is about 4 or 5 inches long - I got it at Pet Supermarket. It is supposed to be used as a filtering sponge of some sort I guess. Kind of like the sponge that's on the end of the pump. I wish I had kept the box to give you a better description. If I go back to the Pet store again soon I am going to get another one to keep in the sump - I'll let you know what I got if you haven't found one before then.
__________________

__________________
~Kristen~

In its great blue whales, hunted even to
between houses, an entire people was
dreaming of a less silent light.
BlueDolphin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2004, 12:54 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
Hey that explained it enough. I had an idea, and I have sponge like that. Thanks!

Hope all goes well with your qt.
__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2004, 12:57 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: montreal, canada
Posts: 75
Send a message via MSN to NJDevilsWinCup
wat medication did u use? is it copperbased because that kills all bacteria so you would have to do much more water changes and how big is qt?
__________________
NJDevilsWinCup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 12:18 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 265
I have not used any medication in the tank. My Regal Tang has been fine so far - she's just been in the QT for a week. It's a 10 gallon. I did another 20% change today and there ammonia still isn't at zero!!!
__________________
~Kristen~

In its great blue whales, hunted even to
between houses, an entire people was
dreaming of a less silent light.
BlueDolphin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 12:25 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 265
How much ammonia can fish stand before it gets critical?? My ammonia is about 0.1 right now.
__________________
~Kristen~

In its great blue whales, hunted even to
between houses, an entire people was
dreaming of a less silent light.
BlueDolphin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 12:37 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Danville, Indiana
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to brndfrb
I would just keep doing your daily waterchanges. Regals put off alot of waste. So in a ten gallon he is going to pollute it pretty quick. Maybe even cut back oon feeding. Don't feed him alot. And just keep doing water changes. It should go down.
__________________
brndfrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 03:09 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 471
Quote:
Maybe even cut back oon feeding
Agreed! He does not need to eat every day, but every 2nd or 3rd day, and lightly at that. Also you may want to take a water sample to lfs to validate your readings.
__________________
srgetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 08:58 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
You'll need to keep the sponge in the QT, or there'll be hardly any bacteria in there at all.
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 11:10 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 265
Thanks so much for everyone's replies. Do you think it would be a good idea to get a new sponge and seed it in the main tank for a week then switch that sponge with the one already in the QT?

I checked the ammonia again this morning and it's still high. I'm getting ready to do another water change. I suppose the water changes are recommended much more than using AmQuel? Or could I do both?

Thanks again!
__________________

__________________
~Kristen~

In its great blue whales, hunted even to
between houses, an entire people was
dreaming of a less silent light.
BlueDolphin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
quarantine, quarantine tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What about the SW Quarantine Tank???? STARFYRE Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 12-17-2006 04:19 PM
Quarantine Tank choupic Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 10-29-2006 09:34 PM
Looking for a Quarantine tank!! aquarist15 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 2 11-05-2005 01:53 PM
Quarantine Tank adri_dand Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 01-03-2005 10:11 PM
Quarantine Tank tmcpeek Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 3 05-30-2003 04:17 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.