yellow goby

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Becks

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi there,
Forgive me. I'm very new to this. It may be nothing.

I've added a yellow goby to my tank. He's been in the water about 18 hours. I don't remember seeing any "blush" color on him before but this morning it is clearly there around his upper body. (Where I imagine his gills and internal organs are) Otherwise he seems normal and comfortable.

I fed mysis shrimp last night and he got some.

If I am reading my test results correctly, here are some tank details:
pH 8.2, Alk normal, Ammonia 0, Nitrite .05, Nitrate 2.5.... I have a 24 gal Aquapod with standard lighting and filtration. Tank mates are a chalk bass, royal gramma, pj cardinal, hermt crabs, and snails.

Is anything wrong?
thanks in advance... Becks

Becks said:
Nitrite .05,

This should be 0 at all times or you risk nitrite poisoning. This could cause red gills. I'd do a good water change and stay on them til the nitrites go down.

Picture? It would really help diagnose if we knew what exactly the fish is, it's only been in the tank for 18 hours it could very well be the fishes natural coloration and it's only just calmed down enough to show it. I would double check the nitrite from another source to make certain your test results are accurate but as Fluff mentioned if the nitrite is that high it would irritate the gills of the fish and cause redness.

I've never done a water change but I have gallons brewed up and ready... What do I do? Just siphon 20% off and replace it?

Thanks!
I did the water change and everybody seems happier. Particularly the snails and crabs! It has been less than an hour and the goby's color is also improving. You guys are great! Thanks again and again. I can't stand the idea of torturing these little creature!