Yellow Tang - Ich????

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

badfish

Aquarium Advice Freak
I know tangs are really suceptable to the Ich, and brought my final fish, a yellow tang two days ago. Being a newbie, i did not quarantine him, which i know is bad. He was at my fish store for a week, and is eating good, and no signs of the Ich at all. However, i saw him skim on the bottom a couple of times on his flat side. Is this anything i should be worried about, He is spotless, and so are all my other fish. Could this be the beginning of the Ich. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

TIA

- Jeff

Flashing - a quick brush off rocks or sand could be a sign of an irritant. Whether ick or not is yet to be seen. You say this is your "final" fish. What others and how long before the tang added? Got any cleaner shrimp?

So, ya thinking about a 20g QT tank :soap: these days? If ick, you may loose fish and gave to keep it without fish for 6-8 weeks. That's no fun.

i have 2 O. clowns, green chromis, yellow watchman, firefish, and yellow tang. I had all prior to tang for 3 weeks. No fish shows sign of white spots, and all look real healthy and are eating good. how long does it usually take to show Up? I didnt get a cleaner shrimp yet, i will be picking one up on friday (payday). I know they help clean tangs, do they clean Ich? Or just other parasites on the tang?

badfish said:
how long does it usually take to show Up?
About a week or less depending on when it was introduced.

I know they help clean tangs, do they clean Ich? Or just other parasites on the tang?
They can help alleviate some trophonts on the surface of the fish but they are by no means a "cure". The trophonts that dig deeper in the epithelium will be unscathed by the actions of any "cleaning" animal. The problem will not abate until the life cycle of the parasite is broken.

Cheers
Steve