Yellow tang with white underbody

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ph34r3d

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am a beginner to saltwater. I added a yellow tang to my tank about 3-4 days ago. The tang was bright yellow all over. Now last night I took notice that the tang is forming a white underbody? I did some water tests with salinity which is at 1.023 and a ph test which is about 8.0-8.5( according to the chart) any ideas as to why the tang would turn white like that? I also have base rock which is white maybe it's adapting to it's surroundings?? any advise would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance

If he's displaying this after lights out, it's normal. Alot of fish show faded colors at night. If he's doing it during the lighted hours, he could be stress. In that case we would need a bit more info on your setup. Size tank? Tank mates? How about other tests? Ammonia, nitrite, nitrates?

he did this during light hours.. but this morning when I woke up he was just fine when I turned the lights on? the tank is 75 gal. tank mates are 1 blue damsel, 2 striped damsels, 2 yellow damsels, 1 bi color angel and 1 chocolate chip star fish, with some live rock. I didn't get the nitrate, nitrite or amonnia levels yet, I will do that when I get home tonight... but he swims just fine?

If he's fine today, then he could have just been a bit stressed from being moved around.

he seems to be turning white like every day??? then in the morning he is fine? the nitrites and the nitrates are all fine.. and the ammonia is 0 or below... any other idea's??? also, is there a way to help reduce the amount of brown algea in the tank?

Is it possible to post a picture? What else is in the tank with him?
For the diatoms, do you have enough snails? Hermit crabs will help with that as well.