Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-02-2013, 11:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
sammo2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Darwin, Australia
Posts: 63
Zoas not opening

Hi all. I'm having a problem with my zoos not opening. I think the problem is because I have quite a bit of hair algae in the tank for some reason. I have just started a treatment of algaefix which I hope is going to fix it. I'm not sure by I have the algae as I have 0 nitrates and phosphates. I do water changes often and even use a phosphate pad in my filter. This is kind of a last resort it get rid of it.
My other corals are fully open and thriving but my zoos just seem a bit sad. They also seem to have a fluffy collar around them which I think might be annoying a them and keeping them closed.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2996791599.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	201.1 KB
ID:	149450

Any idea what this is or how to fix my zoos?
__________________

__________________
sammo2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 12:07 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AbsoluteFaye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Cream Ridge, NJ
Posts: 1,058
I had a horrible hair algae outbreak for like 2 months. I added a phosphate reactor and large cleanup crew and it was gone in 2 days. My phosphates were reading zero when I had the problem so maybe your test is wrong. But what are your parameters and what kind of lighting do you have? Also what size tank?
__________________

__________________
AbsoluteFaye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 01:18 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
sammo2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Darwin, Australia
Posts: 63
Here is a snapshot of my last water test



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1445539891.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	119.6 KB
ID:	149469

It was a couple of weeks ago but I will do another one today but the results won't be far from that anyway. The tank is a 100L with two T5 tubes (one white and one actinic). I have a cucumber, some Nassarius Snails and a Lawnmower Blenny to try and get rid of the algae.
__________________
sammo2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 01:27 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Keithhjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,673
Your hair algae is most likely consuming your nitrates and phosphates and that is why your test shows no detectable amounts. It's feeding the algae.
__________________
Keithhjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
zoas

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.