15 dead. What happened?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BRSIII

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have been reading this site for a long time and had even been thinking about making an account recently because I sometimes see someone ask a question I think I can help with. Well, looks like I'm the one that needs some help.

I am not a beginner at keeping fish but I certainly don't know it all either. I have two 55 gallon tanks, three 75 gallon tanks, a 40 gallon for cichlid fry, and a 30 for cichlid fry, and a 20 long with dividers for bettas.

The one I'm having trouble with is a 35 gallon I drilled with a 20 gallon long sump under it. It also has an 8 gallon tank for fry or sickly fish that also drains into the sump. I use flagstone in a lot of my tanks and have never had a problem. This one had flagstone and some rocks I brought home from a camping trip. At one time it was just flagstone but I took a lot of it out to put in a larger aquarium.

It has several house plants growing with their roots in the sump which helps keep things clean. I did a lot of research to figure out which plants were safe. Ill look up their names if needed. The return pump feeds through cpvc water line painted with black krylon fusion paint, a set up i have used on several tanks for years with no problems.

In the sump I have a second pump for a spray bar that keeps the water surface nice and agitated as it moves through the sump.