6 dead fish, 2 dead plecos- Need help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

IdahoSue

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to having fish so I went back and forth about where to post this but I definitely need help and this is the place!

My hubby and I inherited a 16 gal freshwater tank about 10 wks ago. It was really dirty and had 4 fish in it. My husband changed out about 80% of the water and refilled with plain tap water (and then found out you're not supposed to do that!) We bought a test kit, new filters,and surprisingly the water was pretty good. We bought water conditioner and drops and it tests great. We purchased 4 new fish for a total of 8 and 1 pleco. We did not quarantine as no one told us to do that. I don't know what the fish are. I think some are Cichlids or gourami's, maybe a Rasbora, mollie and tetras. I don't know but they all seemed to get along fine.

We were getting a lot of algae on the glass so over Labor Day, I put all the fish in a huge bucket with 50% of the water and then cleaned the rest of the tank totally. I did not use any detergent; just elbow grease and water. I rinsed the gravel with water (our tap water has little or no chlorine in it based on the test kit). I did not scrub any of the furniture (fake plants, arches, fake (I assume) corral...). I just rinsed off the real plants. I have been putting tap water in huge glass bottles (3gal) and putting in water conditioner and the nitrate/nitrite/chlorine drops to save for future water changes. They test perfect (per Petco). So when I got everything back in the tank it was clean, the water tested great (other than a little hard which Petco said was no issue) and everything was fine. Oscar the pleco was not very busy so we decided to purchase another and added him to the tank over Labor Day weekend.