Ammonia in Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lex5489

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I need help! I have a 10 gallon freshwater tank. Yesterday morning I woke up to my 2 angelfish and 2 Pleco's to be dead! It turns out that there is ammonia in the tank. I now have 3 balloon mollies remaining.

I have bought ammonia remover as well as stress coat to treat the remaining fish.

What I did not mention is that we switched the gravel to sand about three weeks ago. The filter went and I had to buy a new filter. The worker's at PetCo have said that's what did it. The worker's at Petsmart said get rid of the sand!!! It's no good for the fish!!!

My question is how do I switch from sand substrate back to gravel without killing the remainder of my fish? The ammonia and pH levels are still high:roll:

Please help as I am not too experienced with fish tanks!
Thank you to everyonee!!:puppydogeyes:

Welcome to AA! :D
No need to get rid of the sand, I have sand in all my tanks and have never had a problem with ammonia because of it. :) But if your sand was not settled when you started the filter, that COULD be what made your filter break. :(
To get rid of the ammonia, your tank will have to go through the cycle, and you will need to do partial water changes every day to keep it below .25ppm. Do not use products like Ammo-Lock because they are only a temporary fix. Water changes are the best way to keep your fish alive. I went through the same thing as you, and I did 50-70% pwc's every day for 4 weeks straight. You can also get some Seachem's Prime water conditioner, and that will help with the ammonia and nitrites. :)
Sand will not make your pH high usually. What kind of sand is it? What else is in the tank? What is the pH?

I dobn't know the type of sand all I know it that it's from petsmart and it can be used for freshwater.

My current pH is 7.8:(