Atomic bomb for protozoans

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mattcham

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I have been fighting a battle with protozoans for several months. I seem to eradicate them completely after 30 days of daily Seachem Paraguard (malachite green) plus Ken's Metronidazole flakes, but the protozoans just come back a month later. I have a dozen tanks and this problem is is affecting one of my tanks. I was using these medications to preserve my biological filter, but I am tired of this guerilla warfare and I am now ready to drop the motherload on these protozoans.

Is copper based treatment still the best? If so, which one?

What are you seeing for symptoms? What species of fish is this? And what are you feeding them?

These are chocolate marble mollies. The symptoms are white spots, mostly on tails or fins. The spots are about 1/2 mm in diameter. Looks almost like ich but I know that it is not because the body is never affected. Also, their behavior seems normal and none have died so far. I normally feed them tetra flakes, new life spectrum pellets, and frozen brine shrimp, but lately I have been feeding them only Metronidazole flakes (from Ken's Fish dot com).

The Seachem Paraguard and Metronidazole get rid of them within ~2 weeks, and I continue treatment for another 2 weeks after that. However when I resume regular feeds, the disease returns in about a month. I repeat treatment, it goes away, but comes back again. The tank is bare bottom glass. No sand and no decor. Just an Aquaclear HOB filter.