Betta Fish, High Nitrite, How to fix?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MHarrison

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello, please pardon any information I miss, as this is my first time posting on these forums.

I am having a dilemma, I currently have a Fluval EDGE 6 gal tank which is moving along the cycling process.

Inside the tank houses a betta fish, an african dwarf frog, a ghost shrimp, a nerite snail, and a java fern.

It appears that the first round of bacteria has developed, as my ammonia is steadily declining to 0 (currently looks less than .25ppm)

I noticed my betta fish is appearing a bit lethargic. He had previously ate a large algae wafer. I fasted him for a few days and now he is back to normal size wise.

I am noticing high levels of nitrite. I believe overfeeding and the nature of the cycle is the cause of this. My betta fish is hanging around the bottom of the tank resting periodically (let's say for about 30 seconds, then gets up swims around for about 25-30 minutes or so, then rests again)

What is the fastest approach to lowering the Nitrite? Since I've noticed the rapid rise I've done the following

Day 1 after noticing - 25% water change + nutrafin cycle + nutrafin dechlorinator

Day 2 after noticing - 50% water change + nutrafin cycle + nutrafin dechlorinator

My tests are still reading a nitrite level of 5ppm.

Day 3 is tomorrow, what will produce the fastest results for getting my nitrite levels to be lowered? Should I do another water change before I go to bed tonight? :fish1: :thanks:

Also as a side note, temperature levels are right where they need to be.

Thanks for any feedback!

I'd say yes.

Water changes should be the fastest way. Have you checked your tap water (let stand for 24 hrs to de gas, etc) to get a base line. Lots of water changes unfortunately is usually the cure.