Betta losing colour/not eating

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

radiohead

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,

I'm quite new to fish keeping (about 7 months in now), and have a small 42lt set up.

I've had this betta fish for about 4 months and it has started to loose it colour i.e from red to grey. I've had a look on the forms but can not figure out what is wrong with him. any advice would be appreaciated.

Sorry about the pic quality, its from my phone.

Attachments

• IMG_0289[1].jpg
    IMG_0289[1].jpg
    252.7 KB · Views: 163
this was him before....

Attachments

• IMG_0222[1].jpg
    IMG_0222[1].jpg
    258.6 KB · Views: 133
I got this off the internet... U can see it that seems like your problem...

DISEASE: VELVET

uGENERAL INFO:

Velvet is another pesky little parasite. If you always add aquarium salt to your betta’s water (1 teaspoon of aquarium salt per 2 1/2 Gal of water) and one drop of Aquarisol per gal, your betta will probably never get velvet. It is very contagious, but bettas will fully recover if treated promptly. Velvet is the number one killer of small betta fries. :((

uSYMPTOMS:
Velvet is hard to spot, but can be best spotted with a flashlight. Shine the light on the betta’s body: if it looks like it is covered with a fine gold or rust mist, then it has velvet. A betta with velvet will act sick, so look for clamped fins, scratching against rocks/gravel/tank, loss of appetite, loss of color etc...