Coldwater ich treatment

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Reygan2

Aquarium Advice Addict
Things seemed to be great, then I just noticed that the fish that hasn't had a single issue since I got him is covered with ich. I easily treated it in my tropical tank years ago, but I've never treated it in goldfish. I'm getting different suggestions, but if anyone can please direct me to the best option I'd really appreciate it. Can goldfish withstand 88F temps for 2 weeks?

Put some garlic cloves in ur tank. Try that ur goldfish eat it. Then from second day mix ginger powder in goldfish food and feed them. Like a pinch while one serving. Ur fish will get better. I am not an expert but this is a proven method.

Also during this period turn off lights most of the time.

Kordon rid ich.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Uh oh. I've already got the tank well on its way to 86F. I started yesterday morning. It's at 79 now. So no heat?? Dang. I think I have every other med on the planet except that one.
I have MetroPlex. Will that work as well?

Last edited:
Put some garlic cloves in ur tank. Try that ur goldfish eat it. Then from second day mix ginger powder in goldfish food and feed them. Like a pinch while one serving. Ur fish will get better. I am not an expert but this is a proven method.

Also during this period turn off lights most of the time.

Um, I've never actually heard of this method at all. Out of interest has this been tried in freshwater? I've read some articles on garlic use but only in saltwater.

Garlic does NOT cure ich!:nono:
KNOW THE ENEMY!
https://web.archive.org/web/20160313202109/http://skepticalaquarist.com/ichthyophthirius

One of the BEST links on ich ever....(y)