convict with Ich

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Price839

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Dear god,
i would like to go in and fight the lady who sold me my convicts, this morning i wake up and look at my fish and the male was on the complete other end of the female...i found this peculiur i mean the female was at the top right he was in the bottom left, i noticed some color change so i assumed that he was just stressed about the move in, so i took a close look at my female to see how she was handling things....AAHHH i find white spots just begining to form on her side

what treatment method do you guys recomend for convicts with Ich
ANYTHING would help

and yes in case your wondering i am a rookie at these things

and yes in case your also wondering i have them in seperate tanks now

Raise the temperature to over 86F. Leave it that way until at least two week after the last signs of ich are gone. Up the amount of O2 in the water by either adding an airstone or lowering the water level if you use an HOB filter.

Keep an eye on the male also - ich is contagious so it might already be "in the tank". If he looks like he's starting to rub against things, or if you see any spots, then raise the temp there also.
Water changes also help since one of the stages of ich is free floating.