dead platy, missing platy, pregnant neon tetra?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

minzabella

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm just starting out with this hobby, running into a few problems already! I recently bought a 29 gallon tank after doing alot of reading. the water is 78 degrees, ph 7 (this is a drop from yesterday when it was more like 7.6), kh 40, gh 75. nitrite 0, nitrate 0. I havent tested the amonnia yet today, but will do so shortly.
I introduced two new platies to the tank about 3 days ago. one died the first day and the second one is still doing fine. yesterday a platy I've had a week started looking listless- sitting on the bottom, then at the top, not eating. when I came home from work he was gone! I'm pretty sure he couldnt have jumped out of the tank, its well covered. I turned over everything, but didnt find him.
now another platy is looking listless and one of my neon tetras appears either pregnant or seriously bloated. I didnt feed them last night or this morning yet. the biofilter isnt really established yet so I've been switching out small portions of water pretty frequently (10%-20% every other day).
all the other fish look happy and healthy sp far, but I'm worried maybe the weaker ones are just the first to show signs of distress and maybe there's a big problem I'm overlooking?

Re: dead platy, missing platy, pregnant neon tetra? (xposted

minzabella said:
sorry this is cross posted, I'm really worried!
I'm just starting out with this hobby, running into a few problems already! I recently bought a 29 gallon tank after doing alot of reading. the water is 78 degrees, ph 7 (this is a drop from yesterday when it was more like 7.6), kh 40, gh 75. nitrite 0, nitrate 0. I havent tested the amonnia yet today, but will do so shortly.